Vegan Hot and Sour Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe pretty closely and found that in the end I didn't need to adjust really anything, which surprised me as i am always altering recipes. I shared this with a group of foodie friends and every single person loved it. I didn't plan ahead so i couldn't get ahold of the bamboo fungus, aka: long net stinkhorn/veiled lady. It is a mushroom, so bamboo shoots don't replace it but do make a nice addition regardless. Here is what i did change: I substituted a carton of fresh shitake mushrooms for the "1 cup chinese dried mushrooms"; a whole bag of dried shitake rather than the 4, I added only the cornstrach that was called for saturating the tofu (so I used only one tablespoon total) I added a whole bunch of green onions rather than the one lonely onion; i added half a small can of bamboo shoots and some bean sprouts to make it more of a meal. And finally most importantly I added agave to balance out the hot salty spiciness of the soup, it also made it taste more like resturant style. I didn't measure it out but I added it slowly at the end and kept tasting it. Prob a tablespoon. Everything else in her ingredients i followed closely, but with a heavy hand. Don't skip the lily buds/ lily flowers. I bought them dried at an international store. i cooked them seperately in a pot with prob two cups of water and boiled it down to about a cup. Add the water they cooked in. The flavor is kind of crazy. excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
waaaay too much spice for my kids. but delicious anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
The hardest thing about this was finding the ingredients, but SO well worth the search. This is a top rate recipe, with excellent results for an authentic taste experience. If not keeping it vegan, you can use chicken broth and stir in an egg at the end. I did add sliced bamboo shoots, but that was my only deviation to the recipe. About $15 in ingredients will make at least 6-8 batches of this lovely soup. No more take out quarts of hot and sour for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
great! not quite like restaraunt hot and sour soup, and i had to add extra soy sauce, but pretty good(:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
I have made this several times now and have made some definite adjustments for our tastes/budget. We do not have an asian store near us nor the budget for the high end mushrooms/fungus/lily buds. We just do a mix of baby portabello and regular white mushrooms approx. 2 cups sliced + 1 can of rinsed slivered bamboo shoots. The chili oil is way too hot at 1/2 tablespoon. 4-5 drops is plenty hot. We also omit the red pepper flakes and reduce the sesame oil to 1 teaspoon. I add 1 whipped egg to the soup at the end when it is boiling (although I know this changes it from vegan--you can leave it out). I add 2 Tbsp more cornstarch with 1 cup hot water as we like it thicker. My husband loves this soup and I make it once a week now. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
Lovely soup. So good and takes less time to make than to shop for the ingredients! Fun trying something new.I will make this often.Thank-you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Delicious! Followed recipe exactly (though it was not easy finding all ingredients and I live in Hong Kong!!!), with one excpetion. Left out white pepper, cuz husband doesn't care for it. I think it would make an excellent soup even better, so will likely sprinkle some in when I eat the leftovers. "Bamboo fungus" was extremely difficult to find because clerks were very confused. Once I showed my colleagues the other reviewers translation ("long net stinkhorn"), they used a tool to translate to Chinese and I brought that to the store, so try that if you have trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
The flavor was very good. I had to adjust some of the ingredients to what I had and what I could find. Will definitly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Awesome recipe! I love hot and sour soup but have had a hard time finding a recipe that matches the restaurant soup. I didn't use the specified amount of mushrooms as it seemed excessive, and I adjusted the seasonings at the end to fit my taste. Very happy with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2011
This is FANTASTIC. I didn't even have half of the stuff the recipe called for, but I wanted hot & sour soup because I am sick with a stuffy nose. So I used what I had, following this basic recipe, and wow! It's so good! Here's what I used: tofu, tamari instead of soy, rice vinegar (lots of it), veggie broth, water, black pepper, chili flakes, sriracha and the cornstarch. Since I was sick and didn't feel like putting it all in different bowls, i just sort of dumped it all in the pan. It came out sooooo good and cleared my nose right up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Spicy Chicken Thai Soup

See Chef John’s tasty version of spicy Thai chicken soup.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States