Vegan-Friendly Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
Finally a recipe submitted using dry chickpeas instead of canned. You have to do it right to get authentic falafel. You don't cook the chickpeas, only soak overnight and then grind, this makes a real difference in the outcome. I have made with and w/o potato, no difference. I am not familiar with cilantro in falafel (so I didn't try it), we only use fresh parsley in the middle east, and another teaspoon of cumin was needed for our tastes. I also use an additional 2 tablespoons of flour to help it hold together well. And all falafel here is served with a tasty tahina (sesame seed paste) sauce. Here it goes: 1 small clove garlic, crushed with a mortar and pestle (or forget the mortar like I do and just squash it up in the bowl with the pestle)1/2 of a juicy lemon, about 1/4 cup tahina (you can find tahina in the specialty aisle) 1/4 teaspoon salt or to taste and a couple of tablespoons of room temp water. Whisk together, adding more water if needed until it is a drizzling consistency. Drizzle over falafel or use in falafel sandwiches. Enjoy and thank you for a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
185 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sharjah, Sharjah, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
These are great and very easy. I couldn't see where the recipe said to add the flour, so I added it when I added the baking soda. I have used another recipe for years, but it always had a raw bean flavor which this recipe doesn't have. I baked these instead of frying. I dropped them from a rounded teaspoon onto a parchment lined baking pan, covered with foil and baked for 15 minutes at 350 degrees. I then uncovered and turned them, and returned them to the oven uncovered for another 15 minutes. Very tasty wrapped in an untraditional tortilla with sprouts and tomatoes and cucumbers and a vegan thousand island too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2008
Loved this! I've been trying to make falafel like this for years with no success. I baked mine rather than frying and it came out perfectly. It won't be long before I can recite this recipe by heart. Thanks very much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is my go-to recipe because I believe in authenticity and not using fillers like bread crumbs, eggs and the like. In the Middle East, they use parsley (not cilantro) and use dried beans soaked overnight, so that's how I make it. You can also bake these in the oven like others suggest: I preheat to 400F or 200C, oil the sheet, spoon and shape then bake 10-15 min on each side (depends on the oven). Don't be scared off by the vegan label. It's the best falafel recipe on this website, and it's the only one I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Maybe "vegan" in the recipe name scares people, hence so few reviews? This is easily the best falafel recipe I've ever tried. I leave out the potato and double the garlic, cilantro, cumin, and coriander. With shredded drained cucumbers mixed in plain yogurt with a little cayenne, some good chopped tomatoes, cabbage, and maybe some more fresh cilantro, oh my!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PISKURG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
Very good. Needed to add more flour because it was to wet. I think I used to large of a potato. The taste and texture were great. Baked instead of fried 20-30 min. at 350
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These falafels were phenomenal! I didn't know how much a pound of dry garbanzo beans were (I buy in bulk and don't have a food scale) so I just used two cups of dry beans. I kept everything else in the recipe the same except I added an extra teaspoon of cumin and only added one teaspoon salt, I used parsley instead of cilantro and I omitted the potato. I didn't have any flour in the house so I used cornmeal instead. I fried them up in my cast iron skillet and they were great. I tried baking some too but frying them definitely tastes better. I also kept them in the fridge for a day and a half instead of the two hours (I was going to make them earlier but got too busy so made them the next day). The great thing about that, is that you can prepare these ahead of time and they still turn out great! My boyfriend also loved them and said it was better than the falafel at this Lebanese restaurant we frequent! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
I loved this - it's so cheap to make and still really delicious. I hate cilantro, so I used parsley per another reviewer's suggestion. The potato seemed to make the mix pretty watery, so for the first batch I felt like I added quite a bit of flour, but then I let it sit in the fridge overnight, and it seemed less watery the next day. I served it with an improvised version of tzatziki sauce, which went really well with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Wonderful! I had only ever had falafel out of a box, and, decided (after buying 25# of garbanzo beans) to try making it the traditional way. My kids love it so much, and in so many ways. I changed the recipe a little, according to the first reviewer (Noor). Also, I liked it MUCH better without the potato. The potato, in my opinion, made it too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I really liked the concept of the recipe & will make again. For my taste it needed to be more spicy. I only used 1/2 lb.of dry garbanzos,1/2 of the potato & onion. Next time I plan on using the full amounts of spices & herbs from the recipe.I believe that it will be more to my liking. I also used more flour to hold the shape of the balls. Very good will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States