Vegan-Friendly Falafel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
Very tasty. I left out the potato as some people suggested and the falafels held together nicely. I also substituted parsley for the cilantro. I will definitely be making this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This is my go-to recipe because I believe in authenticity and not using fillers like bread crumbs, eggs and the like. In the Middle East, they use parsley (not cilantro) and use dried beans soaked overnight, so that's how I make it. You can also bake these in the oven like others suggest: I preheat to 400F or 200C, oil the sheet, spoon and shape then bake 10-15 min on each side (depends on the oven). Don't be scared off by the vegan label. It's the best falafel recipe on this website, and it's the only one I use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I just made these for the first time and they are very good! Somewhat time consuming and the fact that I had to use a tiny food processor added to the time...lol. I did use more garlic, cilantro, and rather than AP flour I used Chick Pea flour which I think is somewhat finer and had to use about 5tbsp of it. I made these into about 4 inche 'patties' and baked in the oven on 350. I baked the bottom and broiled the tops, in my opinion I think the broiling gave them a much crunchier top. Next time I may just broil both sides. These are very tasty with the "Real Hummus" recipe from here, thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
VERY good! I used garbanzo flour to keep them GF. It worked just fine. I will be making this one again! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Law

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Great Falafel Recipe! My best friend from Egypt tried taste-tasted and thought it was very good. Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
This was my first time making falafels and these were Awesome. Very flavorful. Next time I will try baking them like others suggested. Try these, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Wonderful! I had only ever had falafel out of a box, and, decided (after buying 25# of garbanzo beans) to try making it the traditional way. My kids love it so much, and in so many ways. I changed the recipe a little, according to the first reviewer (Noor). Also, I liked it MUCH better without the potato. The potato, in my opinion, made it too watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2010
These falafels were phenomenal! I didn't know how much a pound of dry garbanzo beans were (I buy in bulk and don't have a food scale) so I just used two cups of dry beans. I kept everything else in the recipe the same except I added an extra teaspoon of cumin and only added one teaspoon salt, I used parsley instead of cilantro and I omitted the potato. I didn't have any flour in the house so I used cornmeal instead. I fried them up in my cast iron skillet and they were great. I tried baking some too but frying them definitely tastes better. I also kept them in the fridge for a day and a half instead of the two hours (I was going to make them earlier but got too busy so made them the next day). The great thing about that, is that you can prepare these ahead of time and they still turn out great! My boyfriend also loved them and said it was better than the falafel at this Lebanese restaurant we frequent! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
awesome! i forgot to peel the potato, i used a yukon gold. i used 8 cloves of garlic and juice of one whole lemon. it was a little too wet, so i just added a bit more flour, maybe 2 extra tablespoons. they fried up fabulous, but i don't know how they would have baked as wet as there were, but, that is my fault for winging it! YUMMY! served it with tzatziki and tahini dressings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
fantastic! since I am gluten free, this recipe's great...I didn't even use potato or refrigerate it and it was a hit with my friends! I added fresh parsley along w/ the cilantro and baked as per previous reviewer's recommendations. served with 'Real Hummus' recipe found on here, rice (or pitas for the gluten-tolerant), salad and oven-roasted peppers, onions and eggplant. delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan-Friendly Falafel

See how to make a delicious vegan falafel.

Easiest Falafel

Make quick-and-easy falafel with common ingredients from your pantry.

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States