Vegan Fajitas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2006
I added a few other ingredients to make it more like a Mexican fajita. I added some cinnamon, lemon juice, oregano, cayenne pepper, minced garlic and a few other ingredients and I cut back on the vinegar to about a tablespoon, along with the olive oil. This made it to where it didn't need to be drained and it was delicious! My husband didn't even realize there was no meat and these are the best I've ever made! Thanks for the recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2004
This is a great recipe and the best part about it is that you can "tweak" it to match your taste and available ingredients. For the marinade, I cut down on oil quite a bit, used lemon juice instead of vinegar and added crushed pepper in addition to chili powder. It worked great! I used all the recommended fresh veggies but no canned corn or beans. Finally I marinated veggies for 10 min at room temperature and then stir fried it on high heat on a very hot skillet. The results were mouthwatering and my husband loved it! Thanks so much for such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2007
My husband complained loudly when he saw the name of this recipe. However, he really like these fajitas. We topped with fresh tomatoes and cilantro (and my husband put cheese on his). I also used only 2 Tbs. oil in the marinade. This is my new fajita recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
The marinade for this is wonderful, just like in a restaurant! I opted out of the black beans and corn, and used sliced baby portabello mushrooms to add a little heartiness instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
These were good right off the stove but the leftovers were not good at all imo. But anyhow I did add more spices to the veggies and I also added in spices to the beans (I used pinto, only because I was making black bean rice). I also made guacamole. I definitely recommend adding in less vinegar and more dry spices. Spices I used were salt, black pepper, paprika, chili powder, cumin, garlic powder etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2001
Very tasty, I added red pepper to spice it up a bit. Eating this made me feel GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
YUM! I added 1 portobello mushroom to add some "meatiness". I also added half a packet of "fajita" seasoning dissolved in water. I also skipped the corn & beans opting for a cold corn & bean salsa on the side. Next time, I will reduce the amount of olive oil as even drained, the serving dish had a ton of oil in it - which made the final few servings way too oily. Definitely great & will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmstarr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cherry Point, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
I have used this recipe many times and have always enjoyed it. I do tweak it sometimes with more chili powder, etc. I have passed this on to many friends as well. Thanks for the easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
yummo. everyone loved them. i originally mixed up jasmine rice and pinto beans for the side dish, then next day for leftovers put them in the fajitas. delish! definitely add some more spices, i added cinnamon, and then took a taco seasoning packet, mixed with some water and added that to the marinade. also added avocado to the toppings at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meg Lammers

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
I forgot to buy the zucchini and squash when I went to the store so I don't know how it would taste with thoes but with the remaining veggies this dish was FANTASTIC!!!!! I used the greek style yogurt instead of sour cream and again these were the best!!! I would eat this over any meat filled fajita. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe with all of us to enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westlake, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Bean Taco Filling

See how to make a hearty, spicy bean filling for tacos and burritos.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States