Vegan Davy Crockett Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I reduce both sugars by 1/4 cup. Added 1/2 cup of applesauce to the oil and vanilla because the other reviews convinced me to add some moisture. The applesauce keeps it vegan, unlike the egg that another review suggested. Pushed the dough into prepared 9x13 glass baking dish. Baked 350 for 30 minutes. I just ate a piece and it is delicious, still warm. I think they will cool and cut well. My version is thicker more like an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie bar. I use vegan chocolate chips from Whole Foods and they taste just the same as regular. This recipe is similar to the cowboy cookie mix in a jar recipe that I made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
I halved this and made it as cookies, with a few changes as follows: (* indicates a modification) 1 c. flour *3/4 c. vegan sugar 1/2 tsp. salt 1/2 tsp baking powder 1/2 tsp. baking soda 1 c. oats 1/2 c. vegan chocolate chips 1/2 tsp. vanilla *1/2 c. applesauce *2 TBSP. vegetable oil *2 TBSP. rice/soy milk. They came out a little cakey, but still pretty good cookies for no egg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by isavarela
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
We made two dozen and ours weren't chewy or gooey, but they were simply delicious! Depending on your taste, you may want to reduce the amount of sugar in the recipe, they were very sweet. Next time we make them, we're not going to use as much sugar. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These were SO GOOD!!! At our Xmas cookie party, my Crockett bars were super popular, even though they were the only vegan offering! Following the advice of another reviewer, I cut each kind of sugar by 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also subbed raw sugar for white sugar, of course, to make it vegan. Instead of chocolate chips, I used dried apricots and walnuts. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
There definitely has to be more moisture in these, as well as a healthier version. The reader that cut the sugar and added apple sauce is right on, as well as cutting some of the processed sugar for agave, or another version of a lower glym index sweet. FYI, I don't know where they get the recipes on this site, but most vegans don't use white sugar, based on being processed through a method of bone char, using animal bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
YUM! I have a dairy/lactose intolerance and it's really hard for me to find a cookie that I can eat AND enjoy! They were super easy to throw together and next time I make them, I may use a little less sugar - also, maybe around Christmas I'll add some cinnamon and dried cranberries! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by prettypunkpixie
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Mine were not chewy or gooey. Very very crumbly but the flavor was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by prettypunkpixie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waterford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Salem, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
These were delicious! The only change I made was to add 1/4 C applesauce. My daughter with milk/egg allergies gobbled them up - as did our non-vegan friends! No one would have guessed they were allergy friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very very crumbly, needs more liquid to make it more like a bar. Was not chewy or gooey. I love the applesauce idea and will try again with the applsauce added instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This recipe is misssing two eggs... mix the 2 eggs to the oil and vanilla before mixing with the dry ingredients....much better results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States