Vegan Davy Crockett Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Akila
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
I read some reviews and followed the suggestions as follows: cut back on all Sugars by 1/4 cup and add 1/2 cup Apple Sauce. Also I made my brown sugar from scratch because I didn't have any. I used 1 cup white sugar and 3 TBSPNS of King Syrup (molasses is recommended if you have but I didn't). King Syrup is thick as Honey and is the only syrup I'd recommend for the replacement of Molasses, for its a Golden Syrup that has a light Molasses taste. Lastly as a result they came out GOOWEY AND CHEWY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
These were very close to the "non-vegan" recipe submitted by Kimberly32. I don't usually read all of the reviews on recipes, I probably should though. I made these tonight, and when I poured in my oil into the dry, even after mixing, it almost resembled a crisp topping w/ chocolate chips and the chocolate chip cookie mixes you get in the bag. So I went to read on the reviews about what to do & a common theme was reducing sugars and oils and using 1/4- 1/2 c applesauce. So I added 1/2 c applesauce, & it still seemed a little dry to me, but I put it in the pan anyway and hoped it would turn out. I added the regular 3/4 c oil, and 1/2 c applesauce. I also reduced the sugars down to 1/2 c each. Next time I plan on 1/4 c oil to 1/2 c applesauce and just 1/4 c of each of the sugars. This was a good recipe! When my mom found out it was vegan, she was apprehensive. After they baked and cooled she ate one, and then determined they weren't bad after all. So thanks so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
I just made this and it is delicious but I do agree with others that there is way too much sugar. I reduced each sugar by 1/8-1/4 C. but next time I will use 1/2 C. white sugar and 3/4 C. brown. I also pureed 2 ripe bananas and added them at the end. The banana flavor is delicious and it makes it very moist but they don't seem to cook on the bottom. Next time I might try only 1 banana. Either way - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
YUM! I have a dairy/lactose intolerance and it's really hard for me to find a cookie that I can eat AND enjoy! They were super easy to throw together and next time I make them, I may use a little less sugar - also, maybe around Christmas I'll add some cinnamon and dried cranberries! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
These were delicious! The only change I made was to add 1/4 C applesauce. My daughter with milk/egg allergies gobbled them up - as did our non-vegan friends! No one would have guessed they were allergy friendly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
This is a great base recipe, but I cut down on the sweetener and eliminated the white sugar like most of the people below. I also added barley, ground flax, and almonds for a little more crunch and a little more protein. Came out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
These were SO GOOD!!! At our Xmas cookie party, my Crockett bars were super popular, even though they were the only vegan offering! Following the advice of another reviewer, I cut each kind of sugar by 1/4 cup and added 1/2 cup of applesauce. I also subbed raw sugar for white sugar, of course, to make it vegan. Instead of chocolate chips, I used dried apricots and walnuts. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
Very very crumbly, needs more liquid to make it more like a bar. Was not chewy or gooey. I love the applesauce idea and will try again with the applsauce added instead of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicki

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hooksett, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Deerfield Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
There definitely has to be more moisture in these, as well as a healthier version. The reader that cut the sugar and added apple sauce is right on, as well as cutting some of the processed sugar for agave, or another version of a lower glym index sweet. FYI, I don't know where they get the recipes on this site, but most vegans don't use white sugar, based on being processed through a method of bone char, using animal bones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I reduce both sugars by 1/4 cup. Added 1/2 cup of applesauce to the oil and vanilla because the other reviews convinced me to add some moisture. The applesauce keeps it vegan, unlike the egg that another review suggested. Pushed the dough into prepared 9x13 glass baking dish. Baked 350 for 30 minutes. I just ate a piece and it is delicious, still warm. I think they will cool and cut well. My version is thicker more like an oatmeal chocolate chip cookie bar. I use vegan chocolate chips from Whole Foods and they taste just the same as regular. This recipe is similar to the cowboy cookie mix in a jar recipe that I made from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Alison’s Rainier Bars

Meet the remarkable woman behind these tasty homemade granola bars.

Playgroup Granola Bars

Chewy, healthy homemade granola bars made with oats and raisins.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States