Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This rice tasted pretty good, but the mix of curry powder and soy sauce didn't make for a very appealing color. I would recommend omitting the soy sauce and adding some turmeric and/or saffron for a really "curry" color. Also mix in some chopped onion and peas for both flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
Despite my preference for flavorful foods, the proportion of cumin, curry powder and chili powder to the amount of rice seems incorrect. I doubled the amount of rice; the spices were still too heavy. The correct proportion might be 1 tsp or each instead of 1 tbs of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Yummy Yum Yum!!! This rice was fabulous! I couldn't find vegetable bouillion cubes so we used a chicken one and it tasted great!! The spices were all perfect and I used 1 TBSP each as listed on the recipe. I've made other curried rices before and it just didn't have enough flavor to my husbands liking...this took the cake!!!! It tasted like something you'd get our local Thai resturant!! Thanks so much Issac.... we love this rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Exellent. I used a cup of organic vegetable broth instead of the vegetable bouillon and water. I didnt have any problem with the quantity of spices either,seemed just right to me. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
I really liked this rice. Didn't have a problem with the quantity of spices, although it did seem a bit dry. I will add a bit more water next time. The nutritional information seems out of wack for this...calories (533 cal/serving) seems way high, I assumed it was an error...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2004
I've been searching for a great curry recipe and this is definately a keeper! It tasted wonderful. I did use chicken broth instead of veggie and I needed to add an extra cup of water in order for the rice to cook through. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Waterloo, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
The rice was great but be forewarned that it is very spicy! I had my brother and sister-in-law over when I made this and they both liked it but couldn't eat much because it was too hot for them. I'll definitely make it again but I'll go a little lighter on the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I halved the spices, but I think next time I will try them at full strength. This tasted GREAT! And it's nice not to have to add anything to my grocery list to make it. This will be something I make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This was fabulous. It's as easy as making regular rice but adds so much flavor. I used as a stuffing for a Cornish game hen. Wonderful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was quite good. My low rating reflects a couple of things. First, as others have pointed out, the amount of water in the recipe is insufficient. Rice is almost always 2:1 ratio of water to rice. Unless you like your rice al dente (and no one does), double the water. This is a heavily seasoned dish--I like hot food, but this would be too much for most people. It's hard to season "to taste" when the seasoning goes in before the rice, so this is just a word of caution. Finally, a not a big deal, this needs some salt. Both the bouillon and the soy add salt, and this can be done to taste at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States