Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Great recipe idea. But only 4 stars because even though the ingedients were correct, some of the amounts were not. Firstly, we need to use double the liquid for any raw rice to cook so add an extra cup of stock or water with quarter teaspoon salt. Secondly the dry spices need to be reduced to half or it would get too hot and over spicy! I used Basmatti rice and added one stalk chopped celery, quarter cup green peas in the last 5 minutes of cooking time. Basmatti Rice needs only 11 minutes on low simmer with closed lid. Finally I sprinkled some chopped spring onions and chopped cilantro, squeezed some fresh lemon juice (1 table spoon) mix it all up – Paradise on earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Maybe it was just me but this recipe did not work out for me at all. The rice needed alot more h20 than called for and the flavors were totally overpowering. Maybe i will try this again to see if it was me or the recipe, but for now i don't think this is for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was a hit for dinner a few nights ago. Don't over do the cumin though! I did but I was able to cover it up by adding more curry powder, and chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bellemadame16

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Woodmere, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Like another reviewer had said, the proportion of the spices and rice is not quite right. Luckily it's not too expensive, the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Yes it's spicy, but it was really good, there are no complaints here. I thought it needed some veggies in it, so next time will add some chopped onion, peas and grated carrot, or anything else I can find. I did add more water then called for because it was gone before the rice was cooked all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEBI EMILEE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
This was great! I used chicken broth and a little bit of water instead of the vegetable and it turned out wonderful. I can't wait to add more to the rice next time I make it, perhaps an egg and some veggies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2008
I think this is a good starter recipie however i wold make a few changes such as: adding extra water ,adding vegtables ,cuting back on the spices and eating it with some sort of tortilla ,but after all what fun is a recip if you get it perfect the first time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
I made the eggplant curry from allrecipes.com and I wanted to serve it with a rice dish that had like flavors. I did make this way different from the recipe, though, since I had already made plain, white rice to serve the eggplant curry over (before changing my mind). Since I like this recipe, I decided to just add the spices to the rice I had and just cook it a bit more in the microwave. I was still awesome. My husband asked for seconds on the rice and my daughter could not stop eating the rice from the pan, my plate, her dad's plate, etc. "Guess you shouldn't make food that tastes this good. Then, I wouldn't steal yours." :) The only thing I can say is that with my rendition, it was SLIGHTLY "grainy" (due to the powder spices, I am thinking). The flavors of the rice were wonderful, though. Spicy, yes, but wonderful nonetheless. I'll make this again but, next time, I'll try following the instructions to the tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shell-Shell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Peoria, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
Like other posters, I added a cup of water, and added a 1/2 cup of peas. We had it with pork chops. Yummy! My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NB Roy
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
Great, but... I followed most everyone's notes and added the second cup of water which was really important. It was a little too warm for me though. I used curry paste instead of powder, so I halved that. But I think all of the spices could be taken down by half from the recipe; I still couldn't finish mine. And the only other issue was that it needs a little texture of some kind. We're planning to try the leftovers cold with some canned chicken for lunch, sounds very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by beth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tonganoxie, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Curried Quinoa with Garbanzos and Peppers

This curried quinoa uses ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States