Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2001
Despite my preference for flavorful foods, the proportion of cumin, curry powder and chili powder to the amount of rice seems incorrect. I doubled the amount of rice; the spices were still too heavy. The correct proportion might be 1 tsp or each instead of 1 tbs of each.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2001
I really liked this rice. Didn't have a problem with the quantity of spices, although it did seem a bit dry. I will add a bit more water next time. The nutritional information seems out of wack for this...calories (533 cal/serving) seems way high, I assumed it was an error...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This was fabulous. It's as easy as making regular rice but adds so much flavor. I used as a stuffing for a Cornish game hen. Wonderful addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
I halved the spices, but I think next time I will try them at full strength. This tasted GREAT! And it's nice not to have to add anything to my grocery list to make it. This will be something I make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
Exellent. I used a cup of organic vegetable broth instead of the vegetable bouillon and water. I didnt have any problem with the quantity of spices either,seemed just right to me. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Myrtle Creek, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2002
Yummy Yum Yum!!! This rice was fabulous! I couldn't find vegetable bouillion cubes so we used a chicken one and it tasted great!! The spices were all perfect and I used 1 TBSP each as listed on the recipe. I've made other curried rices before and it just didn't have enough flavor to my husbands liking...this took the cake!!!! It tasted like something you'd get our local Thai resturant!! Thanks so much Issac.... we love this rice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Verna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
The rice was great but be forewarned that it is very spicy! I had my brother and sister-in-law over when I made this and they both liked it but couldn't eat much because it was too hot for them. I'll definitely make it again but I'll go a little lighter on the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong, but this didn't end up very good. The rice didn't cook properly, and the spices didn't really settle in, they just kind of lay on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
We loved the flavour of the rice using the full tablespoon of each spice. I also used vegetable broth instead of a cube but had to add an extra cup of water to cook the rice through. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
My husband and I loved the robust flavor of this recipe, and the texture turned out exactly as it should have. However, we found the final product to be a tad greasy; next time we'll use only 1 T. of olive oil. Otherwise, it was fabulous (but VERY spicy, which we enjoy but others may want to be wary of).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States