Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
This rice tasted pretty good, but the mix of curry powder and soy sauce didn't make for a very appealing color. I would recommend omitting the soy sauce and adding some turmeric and/or saffron for a really "curry" color. Also mix in some chopped onion and peas for both flavor and color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oregon, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tsu, Mie, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
This rice ROCKS!!! I had to add a little extra vegetable broth. I will be making this again and again. Thanks for a great recipe Isaac!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesha

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Windsor, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
Tasted great!! I added a bit of ginger as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2004
This rice dish is wonderful, aromatic and full bodied flavored. One of my children does not like very spicey food, so I did cut back on the chili pepper. I also used chichen broth instead of water. I will make this over and over, especially with chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2004
I added a small yellow onion to the mix before the garlic. I thought the spice blend was good, but found it sufficent enough to flavor 2 cups of rice for my personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2003
This recipe was really nice...I left off a star because I thought the process to make the rice caused it to be a bit goo-ey. I would suggest parboiling the rice in plain water until the water boils whilst preparing the seasonings separately, then add fresh water to the seasonings, drain water from rice and then add it to seasoned water when it comes to a boil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROMA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Great Mountain, Tortola, British Virgin Islands
Living In: Colleyville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2003
My husband and I loved the robust flavor of this recipe, and the texture turned out exactly as it should have. However, we found the final product to be a tad greasy; next time we'll use only 1 T. of olive oil. Otherwise, it was fabulous (but VERY spicy, which we enjoy but others may want to be wary of).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROGAMIL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
We loved the flavour of the rice using the full tablespoon of each spice. I also used vegetable broth instead of a cube but had to add an extra cup of water to cook the rice through. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong, but this didn't end up very good. The rice didn't cook properly, and the spices didn't really settle in, they just kind of lay on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2003
The rice was great but be forewarned that it is very spicy! I had my brother and sister-in-law over when I made this and they both liked it but couldn't eat much because it was too hot for them. I'll definitely make it again but I'll go a little lighter on the seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Indian Saffron Rice

Spice up your rice side dish with a smidge of saffron.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States