Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
I had such high hopes for this becoming a great regular in my line up but it just didn't turn out good. It may have been chef error, and I may try it again, but I found the rice did not want to get soft and the texture with the seasonings was a bit gritty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by showmefood

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2010
Maybe it's just me, but I did not care for this recipe as is. It somehow managed to be too spicy but still not flavorful enough. That could be because I omitted the soy sauce, though. To make this recipe more to my taste I added an extra cup of water for cooking, diced onions, 3/4 cup tomato sauce, and 2 tbsp sugar. I threw in some frozen peas and red peppers near the end as well. With some alterations to the quantities, this recipe made a great base for the final product!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Amanda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
ok, as recipe is....I give it a 3. It is WAY too spicy and there wasn't enough water as it dried up before the rice cooked properly. Next time I will add more water, decrease the cumin and soy sauce and add some peas and onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMCMULLIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Ontario, Canada
Living In: London, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2010
I just bought new spices (curry and chili seasoning) at Penzey's, and was anxious to use them. This was the perfect opportunity!! Turned out delicious. My changes: 1) Used brown rice (healthier and I find it yummier) 2) Per someone else's suggestion, I added sauted onions (larged diced onion cooked in pot instead of garlic b/c of hubby's allergy to garlic) and frozen peas. Added some zest and color 3) Added some whole milk at end to make moister/creamier. Overall, this dish is very flavorful. My new spices were fun to use and definitely were better than store brand I am used to using :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tami

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
I gave this recipe 5 stars based on the modifications I made: 2 tbsp peanut oil, 2-3 cloves minced garlic, black pepper to taste, 1 tsp. cumin, 3/4 tbsp curry, 1 tsp chili powder, 1 cube vegetable bouillon, 1.25 cup water, 1 tbsp soy sauce, 1.25 cup basmati white rice. I sauteed some chopped green pepper, and broccoli in a wok separately, and once the rice was done, added the rice to the wok and tossed/cooked the whole thing on medium heat for 3-5 minutes. Absolutely incredible!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GoGidd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Windsor, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
This recipe was fantastic! I go to a potluck every Sunday at a friend's place so I'm always looking for quick but plentiful recipes, and this was perfect. I'm a vegetarian and another girl there is a vegan so this worked out well for both of us. I added a handful of mushrooms when the rice was almost finished cooking and it turned out beautifully. Thank you so much for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Willow

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
I did not care for this recipe. Proportions are all wrong. Needs at least twice as much water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grf52

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2010
the over all recipe was yummy!! i was skeptical about it at first, because the spices didn't really smell good together. but when it came out it was surprisingly good!! but the rice that i used called for more water, so it didn't come out perfect:(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by veggieluver

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
Great recipe idea. But only 4 stars because even though the ingedients were correct, some of the amounts were not. Firstly, we need to use double the liquid for any raw rice to cook so add an extra cup of stock or water with quarter teaspoon salt. Secondly the dry spices need to be reduced to half or it would get too hot and over spicy! I used Basmatti rice and added one stalk chopped celery, quarter cup green peas in the last 5 minutes of cooking time. Basmatti Rice needs only 11 minutes on low simmer with closed lid. Finally I sprinkled some chopped spring onions and chopped cilantro, squeezed some fresh lemon juice (1 table spoon) mix it all up – Paradise on earth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceHutClive!

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Maybe it was just me but this recipe did not work out for me at all. The rice needed alot more h20 than called for and the flavors were totally overpowering. Maybe i will try this again to see if it was me or the recipe, but for now i don't think this is for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States