Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This rice had a good flavor but took me awhile to cook. I'm not sure if it was the rice i was using or the the fact the recipe didn't call for 2 cups of water. I had to repeatedly add water to my pan. My family liked the recipe but I'm not sure if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I was dubious about the amount of spices, and with good reason. The taste was okay - a little bitter - but the texture was odd. After adding the bouillon cube and a bit of water, the garlic and spices were a thick paste, and a noticeable pastiness remained in the finished product. Also, I've never seen a long-grain rice recipe cooked at a 1:1 ratio. The package my rice came in called for 1 3/4 cups of water, so that was what I used. (I try to follow recipes as written the first time, but not when logic dictates otherwise.) I doubt that we'll make this again, but thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I halved the spices, added a can of diced tomatoes, butter, extra rice, and a shredded chicken breast. Turned out nicely. No complaints from the children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess Botelho
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I omitted the chili powder, cumin, and used only one teaspoon of curry powder as my family does not enjoy excessive spices. The meal turned out quite edible, and was even more exceptional with lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Delicious! It was a bit spicy to give to my 2-yr old, but other than that, it was great! Made it again with half the curry and cumin and it was still delicious, just less spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Delish.. I could eat this every week..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this as written and it tasted great. I did add some onions and grated carrots to the garlic in the beginning. Next time I will add even more vegetables, but the spices and amounts are just right. It has kick and flavour, but is not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very blah. Did not care for it and recipe does not call for near enough water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was quite good. My low rating reflects a couple of things. First, as others have pointed out, the amount of water in the recipe is insufficient. Rice is almost always 2:1 ratio of water to rice. Unless you like your rice al dente (and no one does), double the water. This is a heavily seasoned dish--I like hot food, but this would be too much for most people. It's hard to season "to taste" when the seasoning goes in before the rice, so this is just a word of caution. Finally, a not a big deal, this needs some salt. Both the bouillon and the soy add salt, and this can be done to taste at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I used brown rice instead and it took A LOT longer. I did not realize this but that was my fault. This recipe does require more water even if you are using white rice, because you need twice the amount of water to rice. I also used a chicken bouillon cube instead. Overall it was good, I added more curry too :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States