Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I halved the spices, added a can of diced tomatoes, butter, extra rice, and a shredded chicken breast. Turned out nicely. No complaints from the children.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess Botelho
Reviewed: May 22, 2012
I omitted the chili powder, cumin, and used only one teaspoon of curry powder as my family does not enjoy excessive spices. The meal turned out quite edible, and was even more exceptional with lentils.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2012
Delicious! It was a bit spicy to give to my 2-yr old, but other than that, it was great! Made it again with half the curry and cumin and it was still delicious, just less spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Delish.. I could eat this every week..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
I made this as written and it tasted great. I did add some onions and grated carrots to the garlic in the beginning. Next time I will add even more vegetables, but the spices and amounts are just right. It has kick and flavour, but is not overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Very blah. Did not care for it and recipe does not call for near enough water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This was quite good. My low rating reflects a couple of things. First, as others have pointed out, the amount of water in the recipe is insufficient. Rice is almost always 2:1 ratio of water to rice. Unless you like your rice al dente (and no one does), double the water. This is a heavily seasoned dish--I like hot food, but this would be too much for most people. It's hard to season "to taste" when the seasoning goes in before the rice, so this is just a word of caution. Finally, a not a big deal, this needs some salt. Both the bouillon and the soy add salt, and this can be done to taste at the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I used brown rice instead and it took A LOT longer. I did not realize this but that was my fault. This recipe does require more water even if you are using white rice, because you need twice the amount of water to rice. I also used a chicken bouillon cube instead. Overall it was good, I added more curry too :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Fallbrook, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
I'm going to add corn and green peas and maybe diced carrot when I make it, this sounds delicious! I can't find any boullion cubes in the grocery store though, and I don't ever really like the flavor of vegetable broth that can be bought in those cans so I'm still looking for an alternative plan since I can't use chicken (I'm vegetarian) Any suggestions?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
I took the suggestions to use teaspoons of the spices. As I cooked I wasn't sure how it would turn out. Once I added the rice it came together. I had to cook the rice a little longer plus add water. My hubby and I enjoyed it. I'll try it full strength next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States