Vegan Curried Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
Cooked it for dinner, it needs twice as much water, or two cups per one cup rice, I thought it was wonderful but my husband hated the smell of the cumin and loved the taste. Had to dump the rest out as he just could not stand the smell of that cumin. Served it with Naan bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
I didn't have chili powder, and only used a 1/2 tb. of cumin, added a green onion and used non-fat vegetable broth in place of the water and bouillon. I also used Minute Rice brand jasmine rice. This turned out fantastic! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I used the same amount of spices as the recipe called for, gave it a nice kick, not too spicy that you couldn't eat it. Added onions and peas. Had to use almost 3 cups water instead of one. Added salt, very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
Loved it just as written! A new family fave
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This is so yummy! I like it by itself, but sometimes I add a package of curry-marinated tofu and a bag of frozen mixed veggies, and it is SO! GOOD! I don't think it's too spicy or too salty. I use low sodium vegetable broth for the liquid, and I actually add more curry powder near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
Oh! Wonderful! The trick with the spices is to work with the flavors. Don't just throw in the amounts and call it good. I added a little Nutmeg and red pepper to mine and it was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
Great flavor, easy recipe. It's a got a nice kick to it. I had to add an additional cup of water during simmering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUESUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
Hey me again. I have to say when I made this I cooked the brown rice before adding it to the sauce pan. I added the vegetable broth as needed to keep it from being too dry. I cook brown rice frequently enough that I have cooking it down to a science, so I don't mess with my method. Again my husband said it ROCKED!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This rice had a good flavor but took me awhile to cook. I'm not sure if it was the rice i was using or the the fact the recipe didn't call for 2 cups of water. I had to repeatedly add water to my pan. My family liked the recipe but I'm not sure if I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
I was dubious about the amount of spices, and with good reason. The taste was okay - a little bitter - but the texture was odd. After adding the bouillon cube and a bit of water, the garlic and spices were a thick paste, and a noticeable pastiness remained in the finished product. Also, I've never seen a long-grain rice recipe cooked at a 1:1 ratio. The package my rice came in called for 1 3/4 cups of water, so that was what I used. (I try to follow recipes as written the first time, but not when logic dictates otherwise.) I doubt that we'll make this again, but thanks anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Carrot Pecan Wild Rice

Combine carrots, pecans, and wild rice into a delicious side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States