Vegan Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
YUM!!! This recipe is amazing!!! I am an avid baker and love, love, love cupcakes! My tried and true cupcake recipe had previously been a variation of the Magnolia vanilla cupcake recipe, but since my boyfriend's daughter is now a vegan, I needed to find something to bake for her birthday. All I can say is WOW! The texture was great, moist, dense enough (but not too dense), with a faint coconut aroma (due to the coconut oil). My boyfriend actually said these were the best cupcakes I'd ever made and has now been officially converted to a cupcake lover. I served these with a confectioner's sugar "quick frosting": a 1 lb. box of confectioner's sugar, 1/4 c. orange juice (or an orange reduction using vegan butter & agave syrup for a little more flavor), about a 1/2 tbsp. of orange zest, and 1 tsp of bourbon vanilla. I've already made this recipe twice (in two weeks) and will continue to use it, even for my non-vegan friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
276 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These were great! I didn't have almond milk but is subsituted soy milk and added 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract. I just used vegetable oil. I made icing with vegan butter, powder milk, and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I was very impressed with this recipe. I was having a guest to dinner who is lactose intolerant, so I needed a milk-free dessert. These were very easy to make and taste very similar to regular cupcakes. I used rice milk and canola oil because that is what I had on hand, and I curdled the milk with lemon juice b/c my guest couldn't eat vinegar, and the cupcakes were great! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made vegan chai cupcakes! I swapped about 2 tbsp of the sugar for a sweetened powdered chai mix and these came out spicy-sweet and delicious (even without frosting)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
These were DELICIOUS! Some of the best cupcakes I've ever had. Loved the coconut flavor. I made a coconut frosting to go on it as well. 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 cup coconut, 1 Tbsp coconut oil, and 1/4 cup almond milk. Combine in a saucepan, bring it to a boil, boil 5 min. Spread it while it's lukewarm. It complemented it nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa S
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Update 10/15/11-I made this batter into processed-sugar free biscotti by using my modified recipe below, pouring the batter into a 9 x 13 pan, baking it (check at 20 minutes), cooling it, cutting it into biscotti shapes, laying them cut side up on a cookie sheet, and baking them for 10 to 15 minutes on each side. See bakingribbons.blogspot.com for complete instructions. Update 12-05-09 made again today Instead of sugar I used 1/2 cup granulated splenda, 1/4 cup Agave syrup, and reduced the Rice milk to 1 1/4 cups. Also subsituted whole wheat pastry flour for 1 cup of the flour. Sprinkled sliced almonds on top. Baked 13 min and they were done. Finished with a mix of cinnamon and splenda sprinkled on top right out of the oven. Diabetics can eat this. READ ORIGINAL REVIEW FOR CHANGES: I just made these they are delish!!! As the recipe and reviewers say, easy to modify to your tastes. I made 12 cupcakes and put the rest of the batter in an 8x8 pan for a little cake. YUMMY! I used Rice milk instead of almond milk, canola oil instead of coconut oil, 1 tablespoon lemon juice instead of vinegar, 3/4 teaspoon almond extract instead of vanilla, and I added 1 teaspoon cinnamon. They are wonderful!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GLORIA LEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Great recipe! I've found that vegan recipes work well for my family, as my oldest son is allergic to milk and corn, and even though I needed to substitute the baking powder for 1/2 t baking soda and 1 t cream of tartar, (baking powder contains cornstarch), these are great cupcakes! We use jam for frosting, as powdered sugar also contains cornstarch, and my youngest son is allergic to citrus. But, we will make these frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I tried this recipe because I didn't have any cow milk or eggs in the house but I really, really wanted some cupcakes. I used vanilla flavored oat milk, cake flour instead of all-purpose flour, and canola oil. The result was fluffy and delicious! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HulahaeBrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Really amazing vegan cupcakes (and I've made plenty before!). I couldn't find my cupcake tray, so had to settle for making flatter fairy cakes instead. But they came out very nice and moist. They didn't rise very much (This is always a problem with vegan cakes.), but when they're that delicious I didn't really mind. I used regular sunflower oil instead of coconut oil, soy milk instead of almond milk, and white wine vinegar instead of apple cider vinegar. Absolutely delicious cupcakes, that I will be making for years to come. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Malmö, Skane, Sweden
Living In: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I opened a membership here just to say how delicious these are! Simple frosting was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Sports Ball Cupcakes

See how to turn cupcakes into sporty little treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States