Vegan Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
I was very impressed with this recipe. I was having a guest to dinner who is lactose intolerant, so I needed a milk-free dessert. These were very easy to make and taste very similar to regular cupcakes. I used rice milk and canola oil because that is what I had on hand, and I curdled the milk with lemon juice b/c my guest couldn't eat vinegar, and the cupcakes were great! This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
129 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
I opened a membership here just to say how delicious these are! Simple frosting was great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Great recipe! I've found that vegan recipes work well for my family, as my oldest son is allergic to milk and corn, and even though I needed to substitute the baking powder for 1/2 t baking soda and 1 t cream of tartar, (baking powder contains cornstarch), these are great cupcakes! We use jam for frosting, as powdered sugar also contains cornstarch, and my youngest son is allergic to citrus. But, we will make these frequently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JENZA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
MMMMM! I made just half of this recipe for cupcakes for my mums birthday (since it was just the two of us)....delicious! She didn't even notice it was vegan! I made a basic buttercream icing (vanilla, icing sugar, butter, touch of milk) for them and topped them off with some multicolored nonpariellels and little pumpkin jelly candies (maybe I'll post my pic they were super cute). To make it the way I did but totally vegan, you could substitute a vegan margarine and soymilk/almond milk for the butter and milk...maybe next time thats what I'll do:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENZA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saturna Island, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2008
These were the best tasting vegan cupcakes I have ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
I tried this recipe because I didn't have any cow milk or eggs in the house but I really, really wanted some cupcakes. I used vanilla flavored oat milk, cake flour instead of all-purpose flour, and canola oil. The result was fluffy and delicious! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HulahaeBrown

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
These were great! I didn't have almond milk but is subsituted soy milk and added 1/4 teaspoon of almond extract. I just used vegetable oil. I made icing with vegan butter, powder milk, and vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
163 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
YUM!!! This recipe is amazing!!! I am an avid baker and love, love, love cupcakes! My tried and true cupcake recipe had previously been a variation of the Magnolia vanilla cupcake recipe, but since my boyfriend's daughter is now a vegan, I needed to find something to bake for her birthday. All I can say is WOW! The texture was great, moist, dense enough (but not too dense), with a faint coconut aroma (due to the coconut oil). My boyfriend actually said these were the best cupcakes I'd ever made and has now been officially converted to a cupcake lover. I served these with a confectioner's sugar "quick frosting": a 1 lb. box of confectioner's sugar, 1/4 c. orange juice (or an orange reduction using vegan butter & agave syrup for a little more flavor), about a 1/2 tbsp. of orange zest, and 1 tsp of bourbon vanilla. I've already made this recipe twice (in two weeks) and will continue to use it, even for my non-vegan friends and family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
267 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollister, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2009
These were very moist, probably the best cupcakes I've ever had constistency-wise. They were a bit bland though; I'd recommend adding either cocoa powder or chocolate chips, or using a very strong-flavored icing (I used a whipped vanilla that tasted pretty much like the cupcakes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
I made vegan chai cupcakes! I swapped about 2 tbsp of the sugar for a sweetened powdered chai mix and these came out spicy-sweet and delicious (even without frosting)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BrooklynRD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States