Vegan Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
Delicious! I looked for a new recipe today, because I didn't have any eggs in the house. I subbed Sucanat (SUgar CAne NAtural) for the white sugar and whey (leftover from recently making yogurt) for the almond milk. The slight taste of coconut is wonderful. I will be making these again... soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
This was a GREAT recipe. I had never made a vegan dessert before and I really liked this one. I made my own version of it that I think is pretty good too, using similar ingredients and procedure, but with some spice! 1 TBS apple cider vinegar (You may also mix regular vinegar with apple juice, I've done that when I don't have A.C.V. and it's been fine) 1 cup chai tea concentrate (I have been using Dragonfly brand Sweet Tea Chai) 1/2 cups almond or soy milk (what you have handy/prefer. If you're not vegan then regular milk works fine, or you can go half way in between and use lactose free milk!) 2 cups all purpose flour 1 cup white sugar 2 tsp baking powder 1/2 tsp baking soda 1/2 tsp salt 1/2 cup coconut oil, warmed until melted (This is part of the original vegan cupcake recipe. I don't have coconut oil so I use 1/2 canola oil with a tsp coconut extract or simply 1/2 cup oil) 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract In a small bowl, combine apple cider vinegar, chai tea, and milk. Stir and set aside to allow milk to curdle slightly. In a large bowl, combine flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the melted coconut oil and vanilla to the chai liquid mix and stir. Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients and whisk until smooth. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-22 minutes. These will be a bit more doughy than regular, fluffy cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
I did not care for this. dripping with oil. The texture was chewy. As a disclaimer, I substituted lactose-free milk for the almond milk. But I think the main problem is the the coconut oil; it re-coagulates when it mixes with the liquids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eric Indiana

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I'm not even a vegan, but I have to say, these cupcakes were absolutely amazing! Since im not vegan, I used canola oil and regular milk, the texture was nice and moist, I wouldn't say it was fluffy like cake but it was still delicious. I topped them with some chocolate icing and they were good to go:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
Just made these. Followed the recipe exactly and they came out light and fluffy, maybe just a bit too sweet, but yummy! No frosting needed, a sugared sliced strawberry would be pretty.. I think your results will only be as good as your ingredients, so use the highest quality you can, and follow the directions as closely as possible, but just for the first time...after that... experiment! explore! Have fun!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary scarlett

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2012
Liked the texture, did not care for the flavor. It may just be my kitchen, but the cupcakes tasted heavily of flour. We're adjusting the recipe to see what works. Such as lowering the amount of flour, adding more vanilla and sugar. I want people to taste my cupcake and be shocked that it's vegan, not think, "Well, it IS vegan." As an avid baker, and recently turned vegan, I'm looking for a recipe good enough to replace my infamous brownies. The quest continues. The only thing we changed was the oil, as we didn't have coconut oil. This recipe is a great starting point, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinKamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
I'm usually pretty good with baking, but I must have done something wrong?! These were terrible. Never making them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
This recipe is amazing this was my first time making vegan cupcakes. We just found out 2 months ago my daughter is allergic to egg and milk. This was the only recipe I trust....Why??? well because any recipe from this website is amazing. If i could i will give 10 stars not only 5. 100% i do recommend this recipe. Enjoy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The texture of these cupcakes was nice. They tasted okay, but nothing special. I'd say you couldn't tell they were vegan, but they still didn't bring enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by latty72
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2012
Very good. My little brother loved them so much he asked me to make them for his birthday. He said forget cake lol. I used a vegan buttercream frosting I found on here and substituted the shortening for coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States