Vegan Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I truly think this is the best, hands down recipe for a white base vegan cupcake. I changed the proportions of some of the ingredients to suit what I thought the cupcakes were lacking in taste and texture. Also,to get a better risen and domed cupcake. They get rave reviews for a reason!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakelove1235

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Eh. I agree with others who said they were a bit like cornbread - or maybe the texture of banana bread. Not a fine crumb, but heavier and more dense. Flavor was fine. They were ok, but not very cupcake-like in texture for me, so I'll look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
These were my first vegan cupcakes that I have made and there we're great! I used rice milk instead of almond. I also added lemon essential oil to the mixture and then added few fresh blueberries in when I had the batter in the muffin pan. Made a vegan lemon cream cheese frosting to go on top! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reestronaut
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I've been vegan for 3 years, and this is the first time I ever got my cupcakes to rise and poof up! I was so excited when I took them out of the oven. I ended up only making 12 and filling them up higher- 3 tablespoons per cupcake. The wrapper came off super easily, too. They were just a little sticky, but that was to be expected. They weren't at all dense like the ones I used to make. This is a recipe to stay! I also used vegetable oil instead of coconut oil, and I used RAW apple cider vinegar, which I think had a better effect on the curdling with the almond milk. Can't wait to share these with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reestronaut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've made these twice now and decided I need to review these, as they are fantastic! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe exactly. I made them for my daughter's birthday celebration at school. They passed the second-grader test and the teachers told me they were some of the best cupcakes they'd ever had. No one even knew they were vegan. I just made a second batch for my son's birthday. He requested lemon cupcakes, so I used lemon juice instead of apple cider vinegar and added 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon zest to the batter. I just tasted one, and it will take some serious will power not to eat them all before the party! The subtle lemon flavor paired with the coconut oil is a seriously good combination. They're not super lemony, but paired with a lemon frosting, they will be amazing. Thanks for the great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
These are easy and came out nicely and I feel that it may be versatile so you can probably add your own twist to it. I want to try cinnamon or cocoa powder next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I have never tasted a better cupcake, vegan or otherwise! I haven't shut up about these since I finished baking. I don't like cake, frosting or cupcakes but these have changed my mind, for good! I also took the advice of other reviewers and substituted vegetable oil (a bit less than 1/2 cup) for coconut oil. I'm not opposed to the coconut but I just didn't have it in my home today. These came out fluffy, moist and utterly perfect! Even my sons and 4 year old daughter ate them in 4 bites. I will be baking these again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Céilidh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I'm not sure if it's because I used whole wheat flour but I followed the recipe to the T and they aren't even edible :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by irok87

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Sahuarita, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
Great cake recipe, too! Fluffy, moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
I love this recipe! I use coconut milk instead of almond, brown sugar and whole wheat flour. Sometimes it takes 25 min to bake. Adding berries on the top makes these cupcakes even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 212) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Jungle Animal Cupcakes

See how to make a whole zoo’s worth of animal cupcakes!

How to Make Frog Cupcakes

Have a hopping good time with frosted frog cupcakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States