Vegan Cupcakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
This is EXCELLENT -- far better than ordinary cupcakes! First of all, one can use a combination of bread flour and all-purpose flour if necessary. You can mix many kinds of dry ingredients (nuts, chopped fruit, berries, etc.) with this recipe and it turns out great. I personally liked throwing in a dozen or so muddled raspberries and two dozen fresh cranberries I had on hand. This recipe is also nice in that it isn't overwhelmingly sweet, and it doesn't taste like baking soda or baking powder (something I'm sensitive to). The cupcakes can be frozen, refrigerated (etc.) and they're still great. Other comments (from other reviewers): any kind of oil seems to work well (my wife uses vegetable oil), it's important to mix the dry and wet ingredients separately, a hint of orange juice or orange zest can be used, and so on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rae Lorence
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2014
Amazing! I subbed the Coconut Oil for extra virgin olive oil. I also added a TBSP of pumpkin pie spice to make them festive. I topped them with a vegan cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae Lorence

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Wow!! I haven`t frosted these cupcakes and they are super good! I was skeptical of the batter, being hand mixed and all, but these are proven winners, thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
Finally a vegan cupcake I can serve to my friends and family!! Great recipe that actually tastes delicious and comes out light, fluffy and moist! Yes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DianaK
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2014
This is my all time favorite vegan cupcake recipe! I make these often at work and many people tell me they can't even tell they are vegan! Sometimes I even substitute all purpose flour with gluten free all purpose flour and make them gluten free as well. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
I truly think this is the best, hands down recipe for a white base vegan cupcake. I changed the proportions of some of the ingredients to suit what I thought the cupcakes were lacking in taste and texture. Also,to get a better risen and domed cupcake. They get rave reviews for a reason!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakelove1235

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
Eh. I agree with others who said they were a bit like cornbread - or maybe the texture of banana bread. Not a fine crumb, but heavier and more dense. Flavor was fine. They were ok, but not very cupcake-like in texture for me, so I'll look for another recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
These were my first vegan cupcakes that I have made and there we're great! I used rice milk instead of almond. I also added lemon essential oil to the mixture and then added few fresh blueberries in when I had the batter in the muffin pan. Made a vegan lemon cream cheese frosting to go on top! AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by reestronaut
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
I've been vegan for 3 years, and this is the first time I ever got my cupcakes to rise and poof up! I was so excited when I took them out of the oven. I ended up only making 12 and filling them up higher- 3 tablespoons per cupcake. The wrapper came off super easily, too. They were just a little sticky, but that was to be expected. They weren't at all dense like the ones I used to make. This is a recipe to stay! I also used vegetable oil instead of coconut oil, and I used RAW apple cider vinegar, which I think had a better effect on the curdling with the almond milk. Can't wait to share these with everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reestronaut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2014
I've made these twice now and decided I need to review these, as they are fantastic! The first time I made them, I followed the recipe exactly. I made them for my daughter's birthday celebration at school. They passed the second-grader test and the teachers told me they were some of the best cupcakes they'd ever had. No one even knew they were vegan. I just made a second batch for my son's birthday. He requested lemon cupcakes, so I used lemon juice instead of apple cider vinegar and added 1 1/2 teaspoons of lemon zest to the batter. I just tasted one, and it will take some serious will power not to eat them all before the party! The subtle lemon flavor paired with the coconut oil is a seriously good combination. They're not super lemony, but paired with a lemon frosting, they will be amazing. Thanks for the great, versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 216) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frog Cupcakes

These big-eyed cuties are perfect for kids' birthdays.

Ice Cream Cone Cupcakes

See how to make super-fun ice cream cone cupcakes!

Sports Ball Cupcakes

See how to turn cupcakes into sporty little treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States