Vegan Crepes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
My brother is a chef and was horrified I'd make crepes without eggs, but they still turned out fine. Not pretty to look at but they taste pretty good. The batter is too thick, it needs to be watered down quite a lot, or else make double and use it as regular pancake batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2004
This is a great recipe, one of the best vegan pancakes I have tried. I don't keep turbinado sugar or soy margarine on hand, so I used white sugar in place of the turbinado, and Fleischmann's Unsalted Margarine in place of the soy margarine. With a little margarine and raspberry jam spread over the top and rolled up -- DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2002
These crepes were very tasty! If you make them, be sure to wait at least an hour before cooking them. I was impatient and so they didn't turn out so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2002
Awesome! Not the easiest things to make, but the ones that don't turn out pretty are still delicious. crepes left to cool then wrapped tightly in cellophane keep well in the fridge for days - the batter doesn't. try 'em w/ soy ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
I have been looking for good vegan breakfast recipes and this one completely rocks!!! I used a great organic strawberry jam from our farmers market. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
This is about as good as crepes can get without eggs. I had some trouble at first flipping the crepes, however, I found that using a very thin spatula, I could sort of loosen the crepe around its perimeter and then flip it without it sticking. I also found that the longer the batter sits in the fridge, the easier the crepes are to turn (don't know why...). I make the batter on friday night so saturday morning breakfast/brunch is a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2002
Completely fantastic! I didn't have the problem flipping the crepes as described below, but I used a well greased pan and a thin spatula to do the work. I also only got about 9 crepes out of this recipe, which means maybe I made them a little thicker. No bother though, they were GREAT with some sliced strawberries and banana's with some melted dark choc. yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2001
I was quite excited when I found this egg-free recipe for crepes! This is the best alternative for vegetarians and they taste like the real thing. Thick or thin- they're great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2001
delicious! i'm amazed at how well they turned out, considering that eggs are a generally major component of crepes... i did have to thin the batter out quite a bit with water before i cooked them; other than that, perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2001
These Crepes are truly amazing! My only complaint was having to wait two hours, I love these things so much I want 'em instantly.. is there any way to do that?? :) Honestly, these are so close to the egg version I almost died, I've missed my mother's crepes for too long. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Basic Crepes

Discover how easy it is to make five-star crepes.

Vanilla Crepes

A little extra vanilla in the batter makes these crepes irresistible.

How to Make Crepes

Make delicious stuffed crepes for breakfast, dinner or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States