Vegan Corn Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
Loved this recipe! My kids all rated this one the best. Very moist, slightly sweet and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Wow, wow, WOW! This is really amazing cornbread! My teenage son has been strictly vegan for a few years and mentioned he'd really missed cornbread, so I found this recipe and decided to give it a try. I've tried soooo many vegan recipes for foods that are meant to replicate non-vegan dishes and it's a hit or miss thing if you expect an exact match for taste and texture. This recipe is a home run! I added about 1/3 cup of creamed corn, used a muffin pan, and reduced the cook time to 18 minutes. This was better than the non-vegan cornbread recipes I've tried - and I've tried a lot. The taste was exceptional and the bread was fluffy and a little crumbly, which I love. Definitely sticking with this as my go-to cornbread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
I'm a new vegan, it' s delicious recipes like this that make me so happy to be a veagan, This cornbread is delicious and easy, The only change I made was I used original rice dream rice milk instead of soymilk, This is a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2014
Delicious! I couldn't get any silken tofu, so substituted apple sauce to make up for the lack of moisture, turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
This cornbread is fantastic! I needed a recipe that was dairy-free, but used an egg in place of the tofu, as I didn't need it to be vegan. Otherwise, no changes. I wasn't expecting much, since my usual cornbread is buttermilk-based... and I was very pleasantly surprised! This may have just replaced my regular recipe! It was the perfect in-between cornbread for me. Not as sweet and cakey as Northern-style cornbread, but not as dry and crumbly as Southern cornbread, and with a hint of sweetness that Southern cornbread doesn't have. Great texture, great flavor, just right on the amount of sugar - I can't say enough good things about it. A recipe that my dairy-allergic daughter AND other family members can all enjoy gets 5 stars from me for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Delicious and so easy! I'll be making this a lot! Don't even need to tell anyone it's vegan. :o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mike Stahl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I made this almost as instructed. It came out great. I always appreciate a good vegan swap. Unfortunately, I didn't have tofu. I figured the tofu was adding the binding, the moisture, that an egg would have added, so I substituted my favorite egg swap. I used a heaping tablespoon of ground flax seed, then added warm water until it made 1/4 cup. I stirred it then microwaved 18 seconds, then stirred it briskly. It thickened up to be like an egg or like pureed soft tofu so I went ahead with confidence. I made one other change. I added a small amount of whole kernel corn (canned, drained) -- about 1/4 to 1/3 cup. The bread was tasty. It was less fluffy than I prefer and had less cornmeal, I think, than I prefer. I will definitely make again (it is that good, and healthier for us) but next time will try a bit more corn meal and a bit less flour. Also I may try substituting some of the flour with whole wheat flour for health reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Danville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Not only does this cornbread taste great, but it is super easy to make. The texture is dense and the favor is excellent. It doesn't taste like anything thing other than cornbread. The sweetness is just right and not overpowering. I used coconut sugar because I did not have Turbinado sugar on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
This is the best cornbread! I made it has muffins for thanksgiving. So good! However if your making it has muffins watch how long you put them in for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
This turned out great! Super simple and no one could tell that it wasn't traditional cornbread. I made it with rice milk, which is a little thinner and lighter than soy milk, so that may have helped with the consistency. I would definitely make these again. The only change I would make is possibly adding a bit more sugar, but that's just because I prefer sweeter corn bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make simple corn bread with a touch of sweetness.

Sweet Corn Bread

See how to make moist, slightly sweet corn bread.

Homesteader Corn Bread

This perfectly moist corn bread is slightly sweet and very versatile.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States