Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2013
Love it. Very moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
I tried this cake because I didn't have any eggs and wanted something chocolaty and sweet. I substituted the vegetable oil with mashed banana to make the recipe healthier and baked it as described in a loaf pan. This turned out great! A nice chocolaty banana bread. Adding chocolate or peanut butter chips or nuts would make it even better. I definitely recommend trying this recipe for a simple healthy treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
This one is an old favorite of mine. Mom's recipe is about 65 years old. Had to rewrite it several times to preserve her book. She made it in a square pan shifted dry ingredients into pan dug 3 wells one for vanilla, one for vinegar and one for oil. Poured water over it and mixed well. Mom has her own butter cream frosting made with stale coffee as its liquid. If we were exceptionally good she would use the leftover icing for gram crackers and freezes them for a treat. No store bought cookies for us. Glad to see the"old favorites" are around for the younger generation to enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
I thought it was good, but only for 1-2 days after I baked it, then it gets dry. All the book club ladies really enjoyed it though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2013
My son is Vegan and we bake this cake frequently. I use cold coffee instead of water. Really brings out the chocolate flavor, but not enough to create a mocha flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
This cake is amazing! It pairs well with many icing's, and is perfect for my youngest who is allergic to dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lizzwizz

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Wonderful cake! I doubled this recipe to make a bundt cake. I also used the balsamic vinegar suggestion. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This was okay. I used sugar in the raw and it didnt work with this recipe. They came out like muffins...but they did taste really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
We have several food sensitivities in our family so we have to stay away from conveniently packaged processed sweets. This cake is my family's number #1 requested treat. It works well with gluten-free flour. I add 1 tsp. of xanthum gum when working with gluten-free flour. I also add 1-2 tbsp. almond butter to make this cake more moist. Our favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 539) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States