Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This cake recipe is very versatile. I baked this in a swiss roll pan, for 12-15 minutes and then turned it out onto parchment paper dusted with cocoa powder and rolled it up while it was hot and let it cool completely. I used a simple vegan vanilla frosting as the filling. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I made this recipe and changed 1/4 cup cocoa to 1/2 cup cocoa. I used a whole teaspoon of salt instead of 1/2 tsp. And I made cupcakes and baked for 20 minutes at 350 degrees F. I made a frosting of 1/4 cup vegan margarine, 1/4 cup vegan shortening, 1 and 3/4 cups powdered sugar, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 1/8 cup soy milk. Whip the fats until fluffy, add the sugar and beat for 2 minutes. Add the vanilla and soy milk and whip for 5-6 minutes. I added some cherry pie filling in the middle of each cupcake after I frosted them and passed the rest in a bowl. These have to be kept chilled or the frosting turns too soft. You would not know they were vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marysville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yummy cake; very moist! I used balsamic vinegar and a dash of cayenne. Turned out great, and got wonderful reviews from my husband, three year old, and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allison M. Rykiel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe was good when eaten right away. Leftovers the next day were very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by padecakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
LOVED IT! I made this for my son's first birthday party because it doesn't have butter, etc., and it was a hit. This will be my permanent chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fantastic! I made this recipe as cupcakes for my sister's birthday party for her vegan husband. I had baked a regular birthday cake for my sister but I wanted my brother in law to have something sweet to finish off the meal, too. Well, they were a huge hit! I did change the recipe a bit: I increased it to 1/3 cup of cocoa powder, added 2 teaspoons of vanilla not just 1 and substituted balsamic vinegar for the white vinegar and it was delicious! After they cooled, I just dusted the top with a bit of powdered sugar and my brother in law loved it. He said that usually vegan baked goods leave a lot to be desired but he said these were "fantastic." Even the meat- and dairy-eaters among loved them. I made them again for a dinner party we're having tonight and they are just as tasty as they were the first time. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is a great recipe. I am not a vegan but my other family members are so I made this cake to please everyone. It was a big hit. Although I did tweek it a bit. I used coconut milk in place of the water. Plus poked holes in the baked cake and pored more coconut milk over it to add moisture. I also doubled the recipe and made it a layer cake with a vegan coconut frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had I not made it myself, I would've sworn it wasn't vegan. I used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and doubled the cocoa powder. Best chocolate cake I've ever had, let alone made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I am a professional, old school butter baker and I certainly could not imagine baking cake without eggs. But I needed a vegan recipe for cupcakes. This recipe stunned me! It was easy, inexpensive, they raised beautifully. They tasted identical to the deliciously dark recipe on the Hershey's cocoa box. I think I may just make this my official chocolate cake for my shop. I did use Hershey's dark cocoa (I doubled the amount though ). I used hot coffee instead of water. This worked. I made a simple peanut butter icing with shortening and margarine and powdered sugar. I drizzled them with dark chocolate and sprinkled with crushed peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These made amazing cupcakes. My daughter is allergic to dairy, nuts & eggs & is going to a birthday party tomorrow. I made these so she will have be able to eat cake too :) I did the following mod's: 3/4 cup sugar rather than 1 cup 1/3 cup apple sauce instead of vegetable oil 1 cup sunflower milk instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States