Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Good cupcakes. I used balsamic vinegar and added some cayenne to half the batch. It was great. I made a vegan ganache with semi-sweet chocolate and coconut milk to frost them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Following the recipe for the cake batter, I tried making cupcakes instead of just one cake and even baking for 25 min was just a bit too much. I'd recommend closer to 20min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I clearly did something wrong, mine was dry and crumbly??? I used coconut flour, could this be why?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
This cake is off the hook...the very best chocolate cake EVER!! Chocolatey & fudgy... Delicious whether you are vegan or not. I top mine with vegan chocolate ganache or if no vegan guests, regular chocolate ganache... Awesome! I double the recipe and do three 8" layers.... It also tastes better and better as time goes by....if it lasts that long! ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
My first attempt at a vegan cake. This was so easy to make and extremely delicious. I doubled the recipe and used boiling water instead of room temperature water. I also used two teaspoons of instant coffee. I used two 9 inch round cake pans to make a double layer cake. It took approximately 35 mins to bake. Try it, you will not be disappointed!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan. I added about 20 minutes to the cooking time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I do love a recipe that can act as a base for embellishment - and this is one of them. I really like dark chocolate and Mexican chocolate flavorings, so I used 2/3c chocolate, about 1.5 tps of cinnamon and a generous couple of shakes of a low-heat cayenne, doubled the vanilla & added a dash of almond extract. Also, I find applesauce to be a really important binder in vegan baked goods, so I cut the water in half and added a cup of applesauce. Came out divine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Delish! I used whole wheat flour and brown sugar instead of white and they were still heavenly - with a dab of vegan buttercream frosting they are irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Completely delicious!!! Did everything according to recipe except I made a dozen rather large cupakes baking for 20min @ 350. Used a vegan friendly caramel buttercream to finish them off. I'm so happy with the result. These will be made time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made an ORANGE CAKE instead of chocolate and it was wonderful. I substituted half the water for orange juice. I took out the cocoa powder and added orange rind. The result was a delicious! Moist, not to sweet and perfectly dense. Thanks for the recipe!! Also just tried making the chocolate version. Used coconut oil and balsamic as suggested by someone else. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States