Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made these last minute for one of my vegan friend's birthday and she LOVED them. These are fantastic. This was my first time baking vegan and I must admit that I was quite nervous. I double the recipe because there would be a lot of kids to feed and they all loved them. Super moist and perfect. I used one batch of this vegan frosting recipe for my two batches of cupcakes: http://dairyfreecooking.about.com/od/sweetsaucesfrostings/r/chocfrost.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Awesome cake! I could make one of these every day. Super fast and easy, even if it takes a little while to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reestronaut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Turned out great - I used balsamic vinegar and a buttercream frosting. Great for folks who can't eat dairy or egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a great chocolatey cake "loaf"! I baked as instructions said, in a 9x5 loaf pan, which makes for perfect snacks by the slice. I substituted the oil with 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed and 1 T butter, and this turned out just as I had hoped. It's perfectly chocolatey but not overly sweet, with a nice cakey but not too crumbly consistency. Mine was done in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is indeed a great recipe. I am not sure if I left a review previously or not, but here it is again. One thing to note (other reviewers also made similar comments), to be truly vegan, the sugar used should not be white/refined. For those that may not be aware, the bright white in commercial sugar is achieved by filtering granules through animal bones (at many factories); for 'ethical' vegans, this would be unacceptable. For those who just want a dairy-less/egg-less cake, then white sugar is fine. I have made this cake numerous times now, and use raw cane sugar (which is slightly brown as it is unrefined) or similar sugar. It imparts great flavor, trace minerals, etc. I have added instant or liquid coffee to the cake and/or the icing, for an extra twist! I use Earth Balance vegan spread (whipped or cubed form) for the icing (separate recipe). The cake is a little denser than what comes from a boxed cake batter, but not quite as dense as a brownie. I use a wire whisk to blend the ingredients and I also sift (after measuring) to remove lumps. Before pouring the batter into the baking dish, you will see bubbles forming - the reaction of the vinegar and baking soda - what makes the cake rise! Great recipe, enjoy! p.s. I am curious how this recipe would come out using Stevia as a sweetener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Wow! A really easy chocolate cake!! I had tried 4 other recipes for my little girls birthday party but this one won hands down!!!! I used cane sugar, we dont use white sugar, and the result was brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a very good chocolate cake. I make it for my son who is vegan. My grandchildren love this recipe just because its so good1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made 12 cupcakes and took them out 15min earlier. Perfect. Love this receipie and normally have everything I need in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I double this recipe to use in a bundt pan and then make a simple glaze from powdered sugar and orange juice. It's become my favorite cake to take to big family get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harleyquin02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
This cake recipe is very versatile. I baked this in a swiss roll pan, for 12-15 minutes and then turned it out onto parchment paper dusted with cocoa powder and rolled it up while it was hot and let it cool completely. I used a simple vegan vanilla frosting as the filling. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 541) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States