Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
Yummy cake; very moist! I used balsamic vinegar and a dash of cayenne. Turned out great, and got wonderful reviews from my husband, three year old, and co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: College Station, Texas, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2013
This recipe was good when eaten right away. Leftovers the next day were very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by padecakes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Bruno, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
LOVED IT! I made this for my son's first birthday party because it doesn't have butter, etc., and it was a hit. This will be my permanent chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fantastic! I made this recipe as cupcakes for my sister's birthday party for her vegan husband. I had baked a regular birthday cake for my sister but I wanted my brother in law to have something sweet to finish off the meal, too. Well, they were a huge hit! I did change the recipe a bit: I increased it to 1/3 cup of cocoa powder, added 2 teaspoons of vanilla not just 1 and substituted balsamic vinegar for the white vinegar and it was delicious! After they cooled, I just dusted the top with a bit of powdered sugar and my brother in law loved it. He said that usually vegan baked goods leave a lot to be desired but he said these were "fantastic." Even the meat- and dairy-eaters among loved them. I made them again for a dinner party we're having tonight and they are just as tasty as they were the first time. thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is a great recipe. I am not a vegan but my other family members are so I made this cake to please everyone. It was a big hit. Although I did tweek it a bit. I used coconut milk in place of the water. Plus poked holes in the baked cake and pored more coconut milk over it to add moisture. I also doubled the recipe and made it a layer cake with a vegan coconut frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Had I not made it myself, I would've sworn it wasn't vegan. I used melted coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and doubled the cocoa powder. Best chocolate cake I've ever had, let alone made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AliciaVR6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
I am a professional, old school butter baker and I certainly could not imagine baking cake without eggs. But I needed a vegan recipe for cupcakes. This recipe stunned me! It was easy, inexpensive, they raised beautifully. They tasted identical to the deliciously dark recipe on the Hershey's cocoa box. I think I may just make this my official chocolate cake for my shop. I did use Hershey's dark cocoa (I doubled the amount though ). I used hot coffee instead of water. This worked. I made a simple peanut butter icing with shortening and margarine and powdered sugar. I drizzled them with dark chocolate and sprinkled with crushed peanuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
These made amazing cupcakes. My daughter is allergic to dairy, nuts & eggs & is going to a birthday party tomorrow. I made these so she will have be able to eat cake too :) I did the following mod's: 3/4 cup sugar rather than 1 cup 1/3 cup apple sauce instead of vegetable oil 1 cup sunflower milk instead of water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nanniemare
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I just made this for my daughter and it is delicious! I had my doubts, but I was wrong. I used 3/4 cup of organic sugar instead of white sugar and it turned out great. Used vegetable shortening, water, icing sugar and almond flavoring for frosting - very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Tough and dry. I followed the recipe to the letter.... no substitutions or free-spirit alterations. Saved only by the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 520) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States