Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I have a new baby grandson!!! that has a milk protein allergy and so his mother isn't taking in any dairy. This recipe was surprisingly easy and delicious. The cake was very moist and flavorful. I put fresh strawberries between the layers and on top of the cake and sprinkled powered sugar on the top. My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This turned out super delicious and moist, perfect recipe! I did double the amount of cocoa powder called for because I wanted a really chocolatey taste. Otherwise I made it as written, and made it in the loaf pan, then sliced it like a quick-bread. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
No flavor and very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reena Maharaj
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I love this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I have used this recipe for years- it is an old depression era recipe and everyone loves it. I have even used it to make a 3-d pirate ship for my dairy allergic son. So quick and edgy to whip up a batch as cupcakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This cake is absolutely delicious! I made cupcakes and simply dusted them with powdered sugar - no frosting needed. I am not vegan, but was looking for a recipe without eggs or milk (I typically only use them for baking and end up wasting what I don't use). I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I'm excited to make them for the girls at work who actually are vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M.shell
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Was my first time making a cake from scratch. So yummy, chocolaty, moist, and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe ever! I almost always make these to take to birthday parties. I always make them the night before I plan to eat them. They are good on the day you bake them, but they are perfect the day after. They get so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I could taste the vindgar & so I quess i will try it without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Stellar cake! Had to use raw, organic sugar to make sure it hadn't undergone the bone char method to ensure it remained vegan-friendly and used organic balsamic vinegar in place of the distilled white. Added double the cocoa as I'm a chocolate fiend and just a touch of cayenne. Baked in a 9 inch round for 35 minutes. Perfect and lovely. All the omnivores thoroughly enjoyed it even after it was revealed to be a vegan recipe. Very easy and quick to make which puts this recipe on the top list of baking recipes when I'm in a pinch. Made the vegan "butter cream" for this but icing/frosting of any type really isn't necessary at all. Wonderful flavor on its own. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miscibility

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States