Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
Fantastic cake! I didn't tell anyone that it was vegan so they wouldn't prejudge the cake. They loved it and were shocked to know it was vegan! Simple recipe to make, relatively cheap ingredients...this one is a keeper. I used a 1/2 cup of cocoa instead of the listed 1/4 cup and baked it in a 9" circle cake pan that I lined with parchment paper and dusted with flour. It took about 35 minutes to fully cook. For a vegan 'buttercream' frosting I mixed together 1/4 cup softened margerine, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1 1/2 cups powdered sugar, and about half a tablespoon soymilk or enough to make the consistensy spreadable. Hope this helps someone! Happy Baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
649 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I made this cake last night and it was wonderful. I replaced the white sugar for 3/4 cup of honey, used WW flour and used applesause for the oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
555 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
This cake was deeee-licious. I've found that if you make it the day before you want to eat it, it is even better. (it actually seems a little more moist when it is not REALLY fresh). I have also taken the advice of another reviewer and made this cake without the cocoa, adding 2 mashed bananas and replacing the vanilla with banana extract. It turned out like banana bread and was fantastic frosted with banana frosting(1 cup powdered beet sugar, 1 tsp banana extract, 1/4 cup margerine and 1 tbsp. soy milk beaten until smooth and fluffy)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oxford, Oxfordshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Try using Balsamic Vinegar instead when you are doing something with chocolate. I would even use a tablespoon instead of a teaspoon. Not many people know that Chocolate and Balsamic were meant to go to gather. If you really want to ramp it up put in a pinch of cayenne pepper. Chocolate, Balsamic, and Cayenne are one of the best dessert trios that you have never heard of; or even thought about using together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This cake is wonderfull! Moist and delicious! I doubled this recipe and made two 9" square layers for a two layer cake. I followed the recipe exactly otherwise. I noticed the batter seemed kind of thin, but the cakes baked up fluffy and moist. I might add a little more cocoa powder next time but this was delicious! I put seedless raspberry preserves in between the layers, then frosted with Vegan Vanilla frosting, then bordered the top and bottom edges with fresh raspberries. Made a great birthday cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JILLITH
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
This cake turns out very well--not too dry, not too dense, and with enough chocolate taste. I make it often for my coworkers and they keep requesting it again and again. They are always surprised to hear that it is vegan. I just tried making it as a cupcake, as well, and I love it even more. It has a great texture and plenty of flavor. I got 15 cupcakes out of the recipe and baked them for 20-30 minutes. I topped them with a veganized buttercream recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JILLITH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2003
I make a recipe similar to this very often. It makes a very moist and delicious cake or cupcakes, and is easily doubled for a 13X9 pan. In my recipe, I use 3/8 C oil and substitute 1 1/2 TBS lemon juice for the vinegar, (it does the same thing) There is no flavor of vinegar or lemon. I've used both. It's also great served with mint frosting. Mint Frosting: 3 TBS margerine 1 1/2 - 2 C powdered sugar 1 TBS soy milk or water 1/2 tsp peppermint extract green food coloring optional
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
My daughter is allergic to milk, so I made this for her birthday. I made it into cupcakes and threw in some dairy free chocolate chips and they were awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
83 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2005
um, this is the best cake I've ever made! I doubled the recipes, added a lil' extra baking soda and vinegar and presto! DON'T overcook this! I don't know why someone said this was dry. cake's are often dry cause' you leave it in the oven too long. For a great vegan icing, make a whipped frosting such as http://cake.allrecipes.com/az/WhippedFrosting.asp but substitute w/soy milk n' olive oil spread. add some cocoa. its great! The paste in the frosting recipes WILL look gross but don't worry it turns out just like Ann says!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2002
this is the best vegan chocolate cake i have ever had! it's even better than non-vegan chocolate cake! super easy and quick! i served it cold with chocolate icing (pillsbury makes a vegan chocolate icing if you want something quick) and all of my friends gobbled it up (even the non-vegans). YUMMY YUMMY! 5 STARS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 542) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States