Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by Nanniemare
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I just made this for my daughter and it is delicious! I had my doubts, but I was wrong. I used 3/4 cup of organic sugar instead of white sugar and it turned out great. Used vegetable shortening, water, icing sugar and almond flavoring for frosting - very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
Tough and dry. I followed the recipe to the letter.... no substitutions or free-spirit alterations. Saved only by the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
Very delicious! I've made them several times and people were shocked they were vegan. For frosting I melt vegan chocolate chips with a little coconut oil, add a little rice milk and beat in powder sugar and together they are my favorite chocolate cupcakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2013
I give it a 5, rarely do I do this, because it's just excellent for the chocolate lovers in my house who are under a certain diet. I did follow the advice of Abztrakt, except I used a Pomegranate Balsamic Vinegar instead. The result was pure chocolate delight paired with fat free chocolate pudding. Thanks to this recipe I can satisfy the chocolate cravings in my house! in other words, a total sweet-tooth lifesaver. The smell that took over my house had neighbors knocking :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria Gonzalez (Marifer)

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Amazing cake make it all the time!!!! Was wondering if i could simply replace the cocoa powder with coconut flakes or apple for a change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Extremely easy to make and extremely tasty. I put all the dry ingredients in a bowl, made a well in the centre and poured the wet ingredients in. Was mixed in a jiff without using too many implements. I used Hershey's dark choc powder and though only a quarter of cup was used, the cake was dark and beautifully moist. It made 6 reg cupcakes and 12 mini cupcakes. Will definitely make again, especially for people with milk/egg allergies. I also made it to fit my swear tin. For a glaze I used 1tsp coffee, 1 heaped tsp cocoa, 1 tsp and couple of drops oil, a little less than 2 tsp hot water and 1/2 cup powdered sugar. Had a slightly bitter, not overpoweringly sweet taste. Went very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHANDYCOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kottayam, Kerala, India
Living In: Bangalore, Karnataka, India

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
I make this recipe regularly as cupcakes, with variations. I have experimented with adding chopped chocolate (which does very nicely, because the crumbs melt), defrosted frozen berries, cinnamon and nutmeg, and finely chopped glacé ginger (this is a particular hit in combination with the chocolate). I have also replaced the cocoa and half the flour with almond meal and added lemon juice/rind and raspberries. Sweet and sticky, but very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This was a very yummy cake; i made it for my family and they all loved it!! My only change was using balsamic vinegar instead of distilled white vinegar as it compliments the chocolate better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
I Loved this cake, it kinda made me wonder why I ever used eggs at all...I added coconut milk instead of water and made gorgeous ,moist little cakes. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2013
Excellent vegan recipe for chocolate cake, although I substituted the oil for sesame oil and strong coffee for the water which really enhances the chocolate flavour. Great recipe for cupcakes as well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States