Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It bakes up really well. For some reason I needed about a tablespoon more liquid, so I just added more oil, but it was great and rose up well. Tastes great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made these last minute for one of my vegan friend's birthday and she LOVED them. These are fantastic. This was my first time baking vegan and I must admit that I was quite nervous. I double the recipe because there would be a lot of kids to feed and they all loved them. Super moist and perfect. I used one batch of this vegan frosting recipe for my two batches of cupcakes: http://dairyfreecooking.about.com/od/sweetsaucesfrostings/r/chocfrost.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Awesome cake! I could make one of these every day. Super fast and easy, even if it takes a little while to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by reestronaut

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Turned out great - I used balsamic vinegar and a buttercream frosting. Great for folks who can't eat dairy or egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This is a great chocolatey cake "loaf"! I baked as instructions said, in a 9x5 loaf pan, which makes for perfect snacks by the slice. I substituted the oil with 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed and 1 T butter, and this turned out just as I had hoped. It's perfectly chocolatey but not overly sweet, with a nice cakey but not too crumbly consistency. Mine was done in about 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This is indeed a great recipe. I am not sure if I left a review previously or not, but here it is again. One thing to note (other reviewers also made similar comments), to be truly vegan, the sugar used should not be white/refined. For those that may not be aware, the bright white in commercial sugar is achieved by filtering granules through animal bones (at many factories); for 'ethical' vegans, this would be unacceptable. For those who just want a dairy-less/egg-less cake, then white sugar is fine. I have made this cake numerous times now, and use raw cane sugar (which is slightly brown as it is unrefined) or similar sugar. It imparts great flavor, trace minerals, etc. I have added instant or liquid coffee to the cake and/or the icing, for an extra twist! I use Earth Balance vegan spread (whipped or cubed form) for the icing (separate recipe). The cake is a little denser than what comes from a boxed cake batter, but not quite as dense as a brownie. I use a wire whisk to blend the ingredients and I also sift (after measuring) to remove lumps. Before pouring the batter into the baking dish, you will see bubbles forming - the reaction of the vinegar and baking soda - what makes the cake rise! Great recipe, enjoy! p.s. I am curious how this recipe would come out using Stevia as a sweetener!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christen G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Wow! A really easy chocolate cake!! I had tried 4 other recipes for my little girls birthday party but this one won hands down!!!! I used cane sugar, we dont use white sugar, and the result was brilliant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
This is a very good chocolate cake. I make it for my son who is vegan. My grandchildren love this recipe just because its so good1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made 12 cupcakes and took them out 15min earlier. Perfect. Love this receipie and normally have everything I need in the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
I double this recipe to use in a bundt pan and then make a simple glaze from powdered sugar and orange juice. It's become my favorite cake to take to big family get-togethers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Harleyquin02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States