Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
Followed the recipe exactly, very easy to make. The cake got rave reviews from family and friends! Light and moist. I made a chocolate-orange glaze to top it off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flushing, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2012
I have to admit I didn't have high hopes for this recipe. I followed but per other reviewers I doubled the cocoa powder and used 2 teaspoons balsamic vinegar instead of distilled white vinegar and I accidentally left out the salt. The recipe made 15 very pretty cupcakes. The tops are very smooth and round. I planning on just scooping out a tiny bit out of the middle and putting in some homemade raspberry jam instead of frosting to save time. I probably will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
this is a copy of crazy cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I made this recipe for a sabbath potluck. Everyone said that it was to delicious to be vegetarian. They loved it. My family loved it too. My mother in law wants me to make it for mothers day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
I've been making this for years. We call it Wacky cake. It is the best. So moist. I love a dense chocolate cake and this is it. Double it and put in 9x13 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I just made 1 serving of this to test it. I recently started eating vegan and my mom was disappointed that I wouldn't be eating a nasty artificial boxed cake mix at Mother's Day, so I wanted to find a recipe so good that she would have to overlook its vegan-ness. Found it right here; deliciously moist and incredibly flavorful. Would never know it was vegan if I hadn't made it myself. I used whole wheat flour to make it healthier and brown sugar because I had no white, and I doubled the cocoa powder because I like my chocolate really intense. The results were nothing short of perfection. All I need to do now is find the right icing recipe. Can't wait to make this cake for my family on Mother's Day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
i have been a vegetarian all my life. and have sampled many vegan cakes. This one was not my fav at all. It lacked the airiness and moisture. maybe i am just a bad cook. but i wot be baking this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahpuja
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Tasty and moist. I reduced the sugar by 25 percent, added instant coffee granules and chocolate extract, and used boiling water. They came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very delicious, easy recipe. I came across this recipe when I was looking for a recipe without baking powder (since I was out). I made it into cupcakes and cooked for 20 minutes; they came out perfectly! I topped with peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made this recipe and it was enjoyed by vegans and non-vegans alike! I doubled the cocoa powder as suggested in the other reviews. I also noticed it rose very unevenly so next time I'll remember to turn it part way through baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States