Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Turned out great. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sotzingr1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipp City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I've been using this recipe ever since I found it in the Betty Crocker Cookbook years ago under the heading "Chocolate Snack Cake". The cake is moist and perfect, even with applesauce instead of oil, and even better the next day. It does smell a tiny bit vinegary while it's baking (not like fish, as another reviewer stated) but there is no vinegar flavor once the cake cools. If you taste it while it's still warm, it will seem like it's not sweet enough. Give it a little while. No frosting required, either. And it really is as dark as the photo, though it's not quite as dark before baking. Skip the sifting and put all dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl. Whisk together, then add all wet ingredients and whisk until smooth- this part only takes 10 seconds or so. Brewed coffee can be substituted for the water for an even richer flavor, but the original recipe calls for cold water so I use cold coffee if substituting. Also, I use a rounded 1/3 C. of cocoa powder. It only takes about 20 minutes to cook in my very old electric oven, and I use either a standard round cake pan or an 8"x8" square pan. I am not vegan, but it's nice to be able to have chocolate cake even when I'm out of eggs, or want to save them for another recipe. Since finding this, I truly have no need for another chocolate cake recipe. Easy and delicious. Thank you, Sue, for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This cake is amazing! i used cane sugar instead of white sugar and added chocalate chips, and chopped walnuts. tried it again with white raisins and orange zest! everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sumspecial

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
i made this also gluten free. replaced the sugar with agave nectar, the flour for gluten free flours, and added apple sauce and very little oil. also doubled the recipe and made it in a 9x13" pan. Greased and floured the pan (gluten free flour of course!) and it came out of the pan beautifully and was easy to decorate and everyone LOVED it more then other cakes i've made! fantastic cake! will be making a lot more! also did a vegan frosting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I am not vegan but I love this recipe, and I use it as a base for all kinds of cakes... excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Novi Sad, Vojvodina, Serbia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
It was very easy to make and my family loved it. A little denser than regular cake, but excellent taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mixingmedias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Excellent cake. Very rich and moist. I also added 1tsp chocolate extract and 2Tbs of honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melmart
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I doubled the recipe and used two 9 inch round bans. I baked for 35 minutes and it was a little dry/over baked. Still awesome and my grandma liked it (who I made it for!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
These are very yummy. 1 recipe makes 12 cupcakes. I used whole wheat pastry flour and subbed balsamic vinegar for white vinegar and this came out beautifully. Baked in cupcake tins for 23-25 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I think this recipe is an excellent basis for a modified recipe, but alone, I didn't like this at all. I'm a baker, recently vegan, and this cake was not sweet enough. Also, it smelled like fish. I went in with an open mind, but non-vegans won't like this at all. I'm planning on doubling the sugar next go around to see if it improves, but if not, I'll be looking for another cake recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinKamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 531) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States