Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I own a whole foods store and we bake and sell muffins and cakes for our customers. I had a special request for a vegan cake, so I decided to try this recipe out in the form of cupcakes before I made the whole cake. I made it exactly as written- with a little extra cocoa (1/3 cup) and apple cider vinegar instead of white- baked it into cupcakes (made 9 filled 3/4 full). I drizzled them with thick icing made of cocoa powder, powdered sugar, hot water, pinch of salt and vanilla (didn't measure anything- sorry) and the end result was amazing! These are nice and dark and will appeal to the real chocolate lovers out there. This recipe could almost pass for a caky brownie. My customers will be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
My new fav to whip up when most sleep! so easy, moist and satisfying. I like to sprinkle with powder sugar after it comes out. I use coconut oil and 3/4 c. org. sugar and also a touch or cinnamon and a pinch of fresh ground coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sicilianrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
i made 12 cupcakes that turned out perfect! at the suggestion of others i did make i few changes. changes: i sifted the flour first (something my mother taught me when baking from scratch) before combining the other ingredients and it turned out GREAT not dense at all; nice fluffy and moist, 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, added a 1/2 tsp of baking powder, used 1c of dark chocolate cocoa powder and apple cider vinegar instead of white. i forgot to add the cayenne pepper, but next time cause there will be a next time i won't forget. also think next time i'm going to use brown rice flour and olive oil. i didn't want to use the good stuff and end up not liking the cake. this cake gets five stars and two thumbs up from me. i didn't have time but i'm also going to try my hand at the icing recipes a few people posted tonight. this cake does not need the icing but if you like icing why not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Awesome cake! Perfect and I must use it at least twice a month now as it's just scrummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I followed this recipe to a T and made moist & delicious cupcakes (baked at 350degrees for 22 minutes). Then i made them again using all whole wheat flour for a healthier version. They came out a little dry, but nothing that a little icing wouldn't fix. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Made this as a dessert for a vegan friend I was hosting. This cake was delicious. I used a reviewer's suggestion of replacing applesauce (cinnamon flavored) for oil, adding cayenne pepper, part whole wheat flour and balsamic vinegar. The cake was not as moist (will play with portions for applesauce, water, etc.) and had more of a bread consistency. Served with fresh fruit (for the vegan) and whip cream. Next day had a slice as a snack with peanut butter and Nutella. Very good. Will make again and play more with the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mejdev

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
The best chocolate cake I have ever made....maybe even eaten! I used half white sugar and half brown sugar (as that is what I had on hand), and whole wheat flour. Absolutely amazing- moist and people couldn't believe that it was vegan! I used another reviewer's vegan frosting recipe and it was divine. I might go make this again right now....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This cake was fantastic! I made several substitutions due to my naked pantry and it still turned out great and was even better the next day. I used the following alternatives wholewheat flour, brown sugar, olive oil, red wine vinegar. I did sift out the larger wheat hulls in the flour. I also increased the cocoa to 1/2 c. as per another review. I like to use parchment paper on the bottom of my baking dishes instead of greasing them to reduce clean-up. Baking only took me 35min. in a glass dish. I didn't hold out much hope for it turning out but it was chocolatey and moist just as described. No icing necessary. I was tempted to concoct an avocado chocolate icing but my husband did not support my innovative spirit. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Delicious cake! I'm not a frequent cake baker but this recipe was fool-proof! (with the exception of the cooking-time) I doubled the recipe, baked in a 13x9 pan, cut in half and made into a layer cake with homemade strawberry jam in the middle. Topped it with chocolate frosting and decorated with strawberries. The slight changes I made were, per other reviewers, increased the amount of cocoa a little, used apple cider vinegar instead of white, and almond milk instead of water and baked at 350'F for only 35 minutes. Even still, it probably should have come out at 30 minutes, it would have definitely been burned by 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2012
Quick, simple, and tasted delicious. I used coconut oil instead of vegetable oil and replaced half of the vanilla extract with almond extract. It tasted great even without any frosting, nuts, or sprinkles added. I'll definitely be using this recipe again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States