Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: May 1, 2012
i have been a vegetarian all my life. and have sampled many vegan cakes. This one was not my fav at all. It lacked the airiness and moisture. maybe i am just a bad cook. but i wot be baking this again :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shahpuja
Living In: Santa Monica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Tasty and moist. I reduced the sugar by 25 percent, added instant coffee granules and chocolate extract, and used boiling water. They came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
Very delicious, easy recipe. I came across this recipe when I was looking for a recipe without baking powder (since I was out). I made it into cupcakes and cooked for 20 minutes; they came out perfectly! I topped with peanut butter frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made this recipe and it was enjoyed by vegans and non-vegans alike! I doubled the cocoa powder as suggested in the other reviews. I also noticed it rose very unevenly so next time I'll remember to turn it part way through baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This is the easiest and the most tasty chocolate cake I have ever made! Try it with lemon frosting. It balances each other out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
i love this cake. my good friend showed it to me and it is quick and easy to make. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
a super wonderful cake. I had a vegan guest for Easter dinner today and this cake went down a storm for all of us - vegan and not. I could not believe there was not an egg in there! perfect texture - very moist with a nice crumb. I nearly doubled the cocoa powder and I subbed the water with cooled decaf coffee to intensify the flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by P24FERGUS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
WOW! I have never baked anything vegan before. I am a new vegetarian and have been dabbling in vegan options. I love to bake with "traditional" ingredients and was not sure how this recipe would turn out. I was pleasantly surprised. I did add about 1/3 cup of miniature chocolate chips (not vegan, but I'm trying to work through what I've left in my cabinet). These were good right out of the oven, but as previous reviewers stated they really were better the next day! I can't wait to make these again. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2012
It tastes really good, don't get me wrong but even with very well greased muffin cups and waiting for them too cool completely they were next to impossible to get out without ruining. Too bad because they are tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Deliciousssssss. Did not give it less than 5 stars, even with the few little changes. Used canola instead of vegetable oil (healthier) and added a dash of cayenne. I think next time, I will add a banana or possibly another sweet fruit. Cooked for 35 min only. Was well cooked Thanks for the wonderful recipe expecially since I am so restricted as far as ingrediences are concerned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States