Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I used spelt instead of cake flour. It was the only one i had in the cupboard. It took a little less to bake, but very moist and fluffy. We'll try it again with buckwheat and let you know!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
I made this cake for a group of people at work that all have different dietary issues. I figured this cake would fit everyone, and it did! It turned out moist and delish! I used Canola oil because that is all I ever use, and I used apple cider vinegar because that's what I had. I was so nervous because the batter did not taste well at all, but after it baked it was super! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leominster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Westminster, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Already reviewed this, but I thought I'd up my rating because one of my housemates was in raptures over this cake. Must have done something right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KristaDean
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
It was delicious! A big hit for my Vegan sister's bridal shower. All the guests were expecting it to taste bland, but they were all suprised on how good it tasted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KristaDean

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Boulder City, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
I own a whole foods store and we bake and sell muffins and cakes for our customers. I had a special request for a vegan cake, so I decided to try this recipe out in the form of cupcakes before I made the whole cake. I made it exactly as written- with a little extra cocoa (1/3 cup) and apple cider vinegar instead of white- baked it into cupcakes (made 9 filled 3/4 full). I drizzled them with thick icing made of cocoa powder, powdered sugar, hot water, pinch of salt and vanilla (didn't measure anything- sorry) and the end result was amazing! These are nice and dark and will appeal to the real chocolate lovers out there. This recipe could almost pass for a caky brownie. My customers will be happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2012
My new fav to whip up when most sleep! so easy, moist and satisfying. I like to sprinkle with powder sugar after it comes out. I use coconut oil and 3/4 c. org. sugar and also a touch or cinnamon and a pinch of fresh ground coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sicilianrose

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
i made 12 cupcakes that turned out perfect! at the suggestion of others i did make i few changes. changes: i sifted the flour first (something my mother taught me when baking from scratch) before combining the other ingredients and it turned out GREAT not dense at all; nice fluffy and moist, 1/2 white sugar and 1/2 brown sugar, added a 1/2 tsp of baking powder, used 1c of dark chocolate cocoa powder and apple cider vinegar instead of white. i forgot to add the cayenne pepper, but next time cause there will be a next time i won't forget. also think next time i'm going to use brown rice flour and olive oil. i didn't want to use the good stuff and end up not liking the cake. this cake gets five stars and two thumbs up from me. i didn't have time but i'm also going to try my hand at the icing recipes a few people posted tonight. this cake does not need the icing but if you like icing why not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
Awesome cake! Perfect and I must use it at least twice a month now as it's just scrummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I followed this recipe to a T and made moist & delicious cupcakes (baked at 350degrees for 22 minutes). Then i made them again using all whole wheat flour for a healthier version. They came out a little dry, but nothing that a little icing wouldn't fix. =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Made this as a dessert for a vegan friend I was hosting. This cake was delicious. I used a reviewer's suggestion of replacing applesauce (cinnamon flavored) for oil, adding cayenne pepper, part whole wheat flour and balsamic vinegar. The cake was not as moist (will play with portions for applesauce, water, etc.) and had more of a bread consistency. Served with fresh fruit (for the vegan) and whip cream. Next day had a slice as a snack with peanut butter and Nutella. Very good. Will make again and play more with the cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mejdev

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 535) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States