Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
I have a new baby grandson!!! that has a milk protein allergy and so his mother isn't taking in any dairy. This recipe was surprisingly easy and delicious. The cake was very moist and flavorful. I put fresh strawberries between the layers and on top of the cake and sprinkled powered sugar on the top. My family loved this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
This turned out super delicious and moist, perfect recipe! I did double the amount of cocoa powder called for because I wanted a really chocolatey taste. Otherwise I made it as written, and made it in the loaf pan, then sliced it like a quick-bread. I will definitely make this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2015
No flavor and very dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Reena Maharaj
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
I love this recipe !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2015
I have used this recipe for years- it is an old depression era recipe and everyone loves it. I have even used it to make a 3-d pirate ship for my dairy allergic son. So quick and edgy to whip up a batch as cupcakes too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
This cake is absolutely delicious! I made cupcakes and simply dusted them with powdered sugar - no frosting needed. I am not vegan, but was looking for a recipe without eggs or milk (I typically only use them for baking and end up wasting what I don't use). I was pleasantly surprised by this recipe. I'm excited to make them for the girls at work who actually are vegan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M.shell
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2015
Was my first time making a cake from scratch. So yummy, chocolaty, moist, and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
This is my favorite chocolate cake recipe ever! I almost always make these to take to birthday parties. I always make them the night before I plan to eat them. They are good on the day you bake them, but they are perfect the day after. They get so moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2015
I could taste the vindgar & so I quess i will try it without
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
Stellar cake! Had to use raw, organic sugar to make sure it hadn't undergone the bone char method to ensure it remained vegan-friendly and used organic balsamic vinegar in place of the distilled white. Added double the cocoa as I'm a chocolate fiend and just a touch of cayenne. Baked in a 9 inch round for 35 minutes. Perfect and lovely. All the omnivores thoroughly enjoyed it even after it was revealed to be a vegan recipe. Very easy and quick to make which puts this recipe on the top list of baking recipes when I'm in a pinch. Made the vegan "butter cream" for this but icing/frosting of any type really isn't necessary at all. Wonderful flavor on its own. Thank you so much for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miscibility

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States