Vegan Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
I doubled the recipe and baked it in a bundt pan. I added about 20 minutes to the cooking time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I do love a recipe that can act as a base for embellishment - and this is one of them. I really like dark chocolate and Mexican chocolate flavorings, so I used 2/3c chocolate, about 1.5 tps of cinnamon and a generous couple of shakes of a low-heat cayenne, doubled the vanilla & added a dash of almond extract. Also, I find applesauce to be a really important binder in vegan baked goods, so I cut the water in half and added a cup of applesauce. Came out divine :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Delish! I used whole wheat flour and brown sugar instead of white and they were still heavenly - with a dab of vegan buttercream frosting they are irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Completely delicious!!! Did everything according to recipe except I made a dozen rather large cupakes baking for 20min @ 350. Used a vegan friendly caramel buttercream to finish them off. I'm so happy with the result. These will be made time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I made an ORANGE CAKE instead of chocolate and it was wonderful. I substituted half the water for orange juice. I took out the cocoa powder and added orange rind. The result was a delicious! Moist, not to sweet and perfectly dense. Thanks for the recipe!! Also just tried making the chocolate version. Used coconut oil and balsamic as suggested by someone else. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Loved the recipe. I did as others did and substituted a couple of ingredients. I used 1 cup of coconut sugar instead of 1 cup of cane sugar as it does not raise your blood sugar according to the Dr. Oz show. Also used 1/2 cup of dark unsweetened cocoa powder instead of 1/3 cup. Used balsamic vinegar instead of white vinegar as someone else suggested. Instead of 1 cup of water, I used 1 cup of canned coconut milk. Also substituted whole wheat flour for the white flour. They came out dense and quite chocolatey. If you want more chocolate richness, try adding vegan chocolate chips. For frosting I used Earth Balance buttery vegan spread, real vanilla, cocoa powder and vegan icing sugar. Makes an unbelievably awesome and creamy icing. Even my friends who love to eat dairy cannot believe this cupcake and icing are egg and dairy free. My next experiment will be to substitute the whole wheat flour with 1 cup of brown rice flour and 1/2 cup of almond flour as someone in these reviews suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
It bakes up really well. For some reason I needed about a tablespoon more liquid, so I just added more oil, but it was great and rose up well. Tastes great. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I made these last minute for one of my vegan friend's birthday and she LOVED them. These are fantastic. This was my first time baking vegan and I must admit that I was quite nervous. I double the recipe because there would be a lot of kids to feed and they all loved them. Super moist and perfect. I used one batch of this vegan frosting recipe for my two batches of cupcakes: http://dairyfreecooking.about.com/od/sweetsaucesfrostings/r/chocfrost.htm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Awesome cake! I could make one of these every day. Super fast and easy, even if it takes a little while to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
Turned out great - I used balsamic vinegar and a buttercream frosting. Great for folks who can't eat dairy or egg yolks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Chocolate Cake

This cake is so dense, moist, and chocolatey, no one will guess it's vegan.

Garbanzo Bean Chocolate Cake (Gluten Free)

See how to make a tasty flourless chocolate cake that’s high protein.

Chocolate Lava Cake

Make rich and impressive single-serving chocolate cakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States