Vegan Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Well, I really just used this as a guideline because I WASN'T looking for a cheesecake type dessert, I just wanted to make a tofu-based dessert - and I try not to rate recipes that I totally change but in this case I felt the recipe deserved some credit for making a pretty good dessert, even WITH my drastic changes! I omitted soy milk and added 2 cups cooked pumpkin and some spices. Ended up with a somewhat custardy-pumpkin pie dish that was excellent! I think the term cheesecake is a misnomer here - maybe with added flour it would have that texture, and some lemon might give it the tartness... or maybe instead of the soy milk you used soy yogurt??? That might make it more cheesecake-like. Still, a good vegan dessert (if you use the right sugar) but more like a custard. It has been added to my recipe box though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine Boutwell Mita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
This tasted just like sweet tofu--which is basically all it is. If you don't like tofu, don't even try this recipe. If you do, it's pretty tasty. If it wasn't for the crust, though, it'd have gotten 2 stars. Might have gotten 4 stars if I wasn't thrown off by somehow expecting this very simple recipe to be reminiscent of cheesecake... it wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pasadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
This recipe did not work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
WOW...I ended up baking it for 50 minutes. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
I'm not too sure about this recipe. It didn't taste like cheesecake to me at all. I mostly tasted maple syrup and the texture wasn't like a cheesecake. It was light and whippy, not creamy like cheesecake. Maybe it's because I used firm tofu? I was hoping this would turn out like I expected. I ate one piece and the rest of it sat in the fridge for a week. What a waste of ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jody Campos Dowling

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Dover, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2006
No. Just didn't like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VA.L

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I think I may have put a little too much sugar in - mine turned out very sweet. It was also almost bread-pudding like in texture. Tasty, but not quite what I expected!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2006
I used a digestive crumb base and added flour and lemon juice like other reviewers suggested, and honey since I didn't have any maple syrup. The flavour was good, but I was hoping for a creamier texture. Maybe using firm tofu would have helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2005
This was yummy, but came out more like a custard. I made it with firm (not extra firm, just firm) tofu, which may have made it too dense. It also was much sweeter than cheesecake. I'm a little baffled. This is a good dessert (and not terribly bad for you either), but just didn't come out anything like cheesecake for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2005
This is excellent -- even the cheese-eaters loved it! I used half soft and half firm tofu, and also added a Tbsp of flour and a tsp of lemon juice, and used a pre-made shortbread crust. I made a simple berry sauce for the top. Unbelievably easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

How to Make New York-Style Cheesecake

See how to make sensational cheesecake the New York way.

How to Make Cheesecake

See how to make a classic cheesecake in five easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States