Vegan Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I always cook it for 30 min and place it directly in the fridge. It is golden brown on top and firms up. I have made this several ways - thick with coconut, peanut buttery, adding chocolate syrup. Often I end up putting in extra maple syrup. I have loved this recipe for years. It was even a huge part of my identity my freshman year of college. I made at least one a week and often brought it to the dinning hall to share. (While Salisbury University did a great job on meals, there wasn't much in the way of vegan desserts in 2001)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
Not great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
This recipe, while delicious, is NOT vegan. Graham Crackers are made with honey, and thus not a vegan option. When I make this recipe I just line the finished cake with slivered almonds and unsweetened coconut. Please don't feed vegans graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Fantastic! I used firm tofu, succanate sugar(dehydrated cane juice)and a shortbread crust and it is absolutely delicious. A little sweet, could cut sugar to 1/4 cup. Also, agree with cooking longer 50 min. Great recipe and it's nice and easy. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
The key to this cheesecake is to let it sit in the refrigerator overnight, otherwise all you can taste is the tofu. Once the flavours have blended together i.e. once the sugar and vanilla have totally "infiltrated" the tofu, this pie is marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I was very happy with this recipe! After doubting the maple syrup and reading negative comments about it, I changed the 1/4 cup maple syrup to 1/4 cup smashed banana. I cooked it for about 50 minutes, let it cool, drizzled lemon juice all over, and let it sit overnight, then topped with toasted coconut. It made a dreamy, creamy, banana/coconut cream combo. Divine! Not a cheesecake in the least, but I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxanapeace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baker, California, USA
Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
the problem that everyone has with the cheesecake being runny is mostly attributed to the tofu. you need to press the tofu and remove a lot of its excess moisture prior to using it in the recipe. just draining the water from the tofu package isnt enough. after removing the tofu from the package and rinsing it off, wrap the tofu in some thick paper towels. then press down on the tofu, not so hard that it squishes, just enough to moisten the paper towels and remove some excess moisture. you may have to do this a few times over before youve removed a sufficient amount of water from the tofu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
254 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Good cheesecake, except next time I will use less vanilla extract. In place of the maple syrup I used strawberry syrup. Not bad. I used silken firm tofu and the texture turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
be SURE to use silken tofu
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Briar Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
Well, I really just used this as a guideline because I WASN'T looking for a cheesecake type dessert, I just wanted to make a tofu-based dessert - and I try not to rate recipes that I totally change but in this case I felt the recipe deserved some credit for making a pretty good dessert, even WITH my drastic changes! I omitted soy milk and added 2 cups cooked pumpkin and some spices. Ended up with a somewhat custardy-pumpkin pie dish that was excellent! I think the term cheesecake is a misnomer here - maybe with added flour it would have that texture, and some lemon might give it the tartness... or maybe instead of the soy milk you used soy yogurt??? That might make it more cheesecake-like. Still, a good vegan dessert (if you use the right sugar) but more like a custard. It has been added to my recipe box though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States