Vegan Cheesecake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Wooow, this cake was so good even my tofu-hating husband loved it! I followed the suggestions and used only half the sugar, replaced the maple syrup for agave nectar (I didn't had maple syrup available) baked for 50 min and ended up chilling for 24 hours. The result really was amazing, the color, the consistency were very similar to cheesecake, I also added a simple strawberry sauce and that really complements the pie, I would not try to make it without the sauce. Will definitley make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dani
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
This is a sweet, custard-like, vanilla flavoured cake. I made smaller tarts and they turned out well. They don't taste like tofu so this is even great to serve to proclaimed tofu haters. I'm going to keep experimenting with baking time for optimum moistness/firmness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bracebridge, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
I've never had tofu before, but I tried this recipe with an open mind because I LOVE cheesecake. The taste of sugar and syrup was just too strong for me. I'm not sure if the aftertaste I had was the tofu, or what, but it wasn't good. I followed the suggestion of pressing out some of the liquid in the tofu before using it, but the texture was still a little wattery and gritty. I can't say I liked it, but I love the IDEA of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
I used firm tofu that I drained for about 30 minutes, cut the sugar in half and baked for 50 minutes. I did chill the pie overnight. It was so good I'm making another before I finish the first so I don't run out! Next time I'm going to experiment with flavor and substitute coconut milk and top with pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
I made this for a friend who has a list of 72 severe food allergies. I used almond milk instead of soy, omitted the sugar, and used honey instead of maple syrup. The flavor was great, but the consistency was more of a custard, and almost half the volume was lost during baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2010
I followed all of the instructions however adopted the advice of others and used firm tofu and cooked the cake for 45mins. I was worried during the coking process as the cake was literally boiling in the oven. It was very firm after I left it in the fridge for 3 hours. I found the flavor very average and still tasted quite strongly of tofu. I won't be making this again. For those who want to give it a go, I would stick to the silken tofu as I think it would give it a creamier texture which would be closer to true cheesecake. Firm tofu was a bit to firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
I did not like this. i wish i would have read the reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by brunettegirl
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
This definately tasted like a custard and the texture was all wrong. Next time (if there is a next time) I will use firm tofu because there was way too much moisture, even when I drained and pressed the tofu. It did taste good, especially with kiwis and strawberries, but it felt more like a breakfast food to me-i would never have labelled it cheesecake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2009
This was fantastic. I read the other reviews and followed suggestions. I used vanilla soy milk, added extra vanilla, and baked longer than required. I didn't think it was going to turn out till I let it chill in the fridge for about 4 hours. I topped it with a homemade strawberry sauce and it disappeared in about 10 minutes. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
I used almond milk instead of soy, and made the crust myself (cookies, agave nectar, almonds, grapeseed oil in food processor) and I baked the cake about 15 mins extra. I wish the consistency was thicker. It was a bit too sweet, which is making me rethink the maple syrup in the future. I might just add a cup of blueberries instead, which may help gel up the consistency as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kseniya B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Caramel Macchiato Cheesecake

What’s cooking in Janesville? Creamy cheesecake with a splash of coffee.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States