Vegan Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2014
It wasn't bad. I think the potatoes really sapped some of the flavor away. If I make again, I think i I would use maybe half the amount of potatoes and maybe figuring out some different vegetable to add to the "filling". Everyone liked the gravy, and I think the recipe is a very good starting point to make some changes to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
In my opionion... It is very very good although I found it to be somewhat time consuming to make. Probably because it was my 1st time. Mine came out somewhat wet and i don't think i used more than a cup of the reserved potatoe water, I think it would have been good without adding any more to it. And to top it off my finicky husband really enjoyed it. So its a keeper. Thank You for posting this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
I didn't have mushrooms in the house today, so I replaced them with cauliflower! It was very yummy, but I have to try it with mushrooms as well. Also I have added diced pepper to the filling and extra garlic. I added some thyme to the gravy and dehydrated onion. All came together very nicely. I am a vegan and this recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2013
My husband and I are vegans, have been for many years, but I have to say neither one of us cared much for this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
Really good. I disagree with most of the other users, even though there were a lot of steps I didn't find this was difficult to make. I found it didn't need the gravy on top though, made it too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mesa Mom
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
This could be called a Vegans' Shepherds Pie in a sense if that helps with the visualization. This casserole is DELICIOUS! That being said, not sure if I'd tackle it again. It took me 1 hr. to prep, and I don't agree with one of the reviews that states it's easy to follow. I consider myself an intermediate cook but this one made me feel like a beginner! I like to prep ahead of time for longer recipes, and this one you cannot really prep ahead for. I left the skins on the potatoes. They're so good for you and it really made no difference in the end, other than you're getting the nutrients (which is ALWAYS a benefit)! I was confused as to what to do with the ingredients used with boiling the potatoes. I did not include them in the mashing. Next time (if there is one), I will put the garlic, parsley, peppercorns, and bay leaf in a tied cheese cloth and will finely chop (rely on your food processor for this recipe and it will go much faster) the celery, onions, and garlic and will include them in the potato topping for added flavor and reduced wasting. I did not use BBQ sauce but took another reviewer's suggestion and mixed about 2 tbsp. Miso and Tamari each for a substitute. Very flavorful. Also, I too did use "chicken gravy flavored mix" but made my own "gravy" from the suggested whole wheat pastry flour, nutritional yeast, and vegetable stock added to thin it to a gravy consistency; I don't think it was missing anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mesa Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
I thought this recipe was delicious. The prep took a fair amount of time, but the result was worth it. I didn't have miso paste so I omitted it, which seemed to be fine. I am not a vegetarian, but I have been looking for some plant-based meals to add to my diet, and this one was wonderful. It was hearty and satisfying, with a great texture and flavor, and I did not miss the meat one bit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
Good - feels healthy - easy to make - Mike liked it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
This is not as complecated as it seems! Read it through, it's very well written> My family really loved this. One reviewer complained about the potatoes- they're just mashed potatoes with 1 T. miso added. If you don't like miso, don't use it! I did use soymilk instead of water. I also used Better than Boullion no chicken base for where it called for gravy, or boullion, and left out bbq sauce (my preference). You could use all kinds of different veggies. I used a frozen mix of peas, carrots and corn, chopped spinach, onion, and peppers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
This was tasty but so many ingredients and steps I just don't know if it was worth the effort. Also, I added the minimum amount of potato water to the potatoes and the casserole still came out very wet and mushy? Maybe if I made it again I would leave out the water entirely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Sure to Fool 'Em Vegan Stuffed Shells

What's cooking in Dana Point? Connie's "Sure to Fool 'Em" Stuffed Shells.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States