Vegan Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2004
Nice mix of flavors, but the proportions are way off. As written, this "soup" has the consistency of a bowl of mashed potatoes. I ended up adding another cup of broth and 2 cups of half-n-half. It was still very thick soup. (Adding dairy messes up the vegan attribute.) Also, 1 tsp of curry just got lost in the other flavors, so I added a bunch more. With those changes, this is pretty good soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
this is very similar to the carrot soup that i make; the only difference is that i do not use vegetable broth. also, i only use one potato, unless they happened to be very small potatoes, like reds or something, but russets? i can't imagine using more than one. instead of broth i just use water, and enough water to cover all the vegetables (thus making a broth) and when everything is tender, then puree. i have had a couple variations, using ginger, adding cinnamon, incorporating a 1/4 cup coconut milk or less to the mix and garnishing with cilantro and green onions. makes enough for days or a family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a big hit, but I also tweaked it a bit: I added a fistful of chopped fresh coriander/cilantro,2 stalks of celery, some cumin and nutmeg. Our vegan visitor was very pleased... and I was happily surprised as I'd normally want to add butter/cream and other vegan no-nos. Season it to your own taste. A great winter warmer (it actually started snowing while we were eating)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
Excellent soup! I did it with water instead of vegetable stock and added a little more curry and ginger, and used just one large potato. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
It looks like baby food but it is delicious and easy to make. The second time I made it, I added an additional 2 cups of water so that it has a thinner quality that is more like a soup and less like pureed carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
After reading the suggestions from other reviewers, I used only 1 large potato, and I doubled the veggie broth. The carrots took a lot longer to get tender too, but that's a judgment call. The results? Absolutely delicious! It's a bit spicy - I don't know if it's the ginger or the curry - but in a good way. Delicious vegan meal with some nice home style bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nanis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used sweet potatoes and no ginger. Tastes heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This soup was very thick and filling. The ginger compliments the soup and I am certainly satisfied after eating one serving. I would have liked the curry taste to be more pronounced, but it fit just right. I recommend following it with a small green salad, as the soup left a starchy sensation in my mouth. If you use fresh ingrediants, and follow the recipe, you will be pleased with this sublty flavored and filling dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This soup was delicious! I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 only because I did have to add more broth to reach soup consistency and add more curry as per other reviews. It was extremely flavorful though for such an easy recipe with simple ingredients. I have been looking for vegan recipes that I can take on the go with me during the work week and this is definitely one of my go-to meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle9004

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This soup was great the only adjustments I made was I used baby red potatoes and I added some oregano. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States