Vegan Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This soup was great! I really changed it. I doubled the recipe, used 8 carrots, 2 sweet potatoes, 1 regular potatoes, 1/2 tsp of curry powder, chili powder and cayenne pepper and used 6c of broth.(The rest of the recipe was left as is.) MY fiance thought it was amazing and loved the heat but I had to add a big dollop of plain yogurt to cut the heat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xezandria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2007
This recipe is excellent and one of my favorites! Thank you for sharing. For a variation I replace the ginger with pumpkin pie spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I used sweet potatoes and no ginger. Tastes heavenly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casey

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
This was a big hit, but I also tweaked it a bit: I added a fistful of chopped fresh coriander/cilantro,2 stalks of celery, some cumin and nutmeg. Our vegan visitor was very pleased... and I was happily surprised as I'd normally want to add butter/cream and other vegan no-nos. Season it to your own taste. A great winter warmer (it actually started snowing while we were eating)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cinekate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Alamos, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
This soup was very thick and filling. The ginger compliments the soup and I am certainly satisfied after eating one serving. I would have liked the curry taste to be more pronounced, but it fit just right. I recommend following it with a small green salad, as the soup left a starchy sensation in my mouth. If you use fresh ingrediants, and follow the recipe, you will be pleased with this sublty flavored and filling dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This soup was great the only adjustments I made was I used baby red potatoes and I added some oregano. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2007
This soup is great. Im vegan, so its great to find great recipes like this one. Even my non-vegan family liked it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2007
I thought this was great. Though some complain it's too thick for soup, i guess it depends on what you deem soup thickness needs to be. I used 4 large potatoes, then again i think i used 6 carrots, got rid of the ginger and doubled the curry. I'm not sure how anyone could say it wasn't filling...it is a really thick soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
This had a nice kick with the fresh ginger and cayenne powder. I also added more water besides the broth like others recommended to give it more of a soup consistency. Also, since I didn't have "new" potatoes on hand, I used two med. white potatoes. Very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikkiemi19

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2007
this is very similar to the carrot soup that i make; the only difference is that i do not use vegetable broth. also, i only use one potato, unless they happened to be very small potatoes, like reds or something, but russets? i can't imagine using more than one. instead of broth i just use water, and enough water to cover all the vegetables (thus making a broth) and when everything is tender, then puree. i have had a couple variations, using ginger, adding cinnamon, incorporating a 1/4 cup coconut milk or less to the mix and garnishing with cilantro and green onions. makes enough for days or a family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keri marion

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Providence, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States