Vegan Carrot Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Most of the family liked this enough. It came out both not chunky enough or not "soupy" enough for my tastes.. It ended up having the consistency of baby food. I think I actually would have liked it better without processing it through the blender. They say food processor but mine would have leaked the fluid so I definitely had to use the blender. It was also a bit bland despite smelling amazing when it was cooking. I did up the gingers and garlic. It might have tasted a little stronger had I been able to find new potatoes but alas those don't seem to be available year round here. I used red potatoes as those have the strongest flavor. So my advice, don't bother blending, up the curry powder and maybe add some Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2013
I ended up doubling the broth and adding more curry and a bit more ginger. The soup is good, but will need to be tweaked depending on thickness/flavor preferences. Next time I make this, I think I'll add some cauliflower as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2013
It was easy to do..I've also added cumin,celery and cilantro as well as additional water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Altadena, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
Made a few changes which ended up making my version un-vegan but good none the less. Used chicken broth instead of vegetable since it was all I had on hand, doubled that as well as the curry because I wanted it spicy. I also used one sweet potato instead of the new potatoes and added a few sprigs of fresh thyme right at the end. Mine didn't quite come out with the rich orange and yellow colour since I used purple and white carrots from the farmer's market instead of the standard carrot, but it was good and warm for a rather overcast day. Froze half for when there's snow. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cchellez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Sandston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2012
This was really good, IF you can handle the chowder consistency, which my husband (thinks) he can't. (he eats it anyway). He was afraid of the Curry it called for, but even he had to admit that it was just the right amount of Curry. (he is NOT a curry fan)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This soup was delicious and easy! I simmered for longer than the recipe said, because my carrots and potatoes were still firm in 15-20 minutes. I loved the tangy taste of the ginger and curry powder. I added some cilantro, too. I'll be making this again, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Great Soup base and fun to play with til it suits each particular family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fenwick, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cantley, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
I only put about half of the soup through the blender, and then mixed the blended and non blended together. This gives the thickness of the puree, yet still retains some texture (it looks and feels less like baby food). Over all one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2010
This soup was delicious! I am giving it 4 stars instead of 5 only because I did have to add more broth to reach soup consistency and add more curry as per other reviews. It was extremely flavorful though for such an easy recipe with simple ingredients. I have been looking for vegan recipes that I can take on the go with me during the work week and this is definitely one of my go-to meals.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle9004

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
I love this recipe! It is really flavorful for just carrots & potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Black Bean and Salsa Soup

This satisfying soup comes together in just minutes.

Slow Cooker Creamy Potato Soup

A rich, creamy potato with bacon soup you make in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States