Vegan Carrot Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have been dealing with gallbladder issues and there are very few foods I can eat. After having many bland meals, this was a great flavorful change. I just made it for a second time. It took me much longer than 20 minutes to cook the carrots. The second time around I boiled the carrots and then added them to the broth. I also used light coconut milk both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I replaced half the broth with water because I need to watch out for sodium. I ran the carrots through the food processor before putting them in the broth at the beginning. Then when it was time to puree, the stick blender handled it very easily. Turned out delicious! This will be my standard carrot soup recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This worked wonderfully in my slow cooker also. I added a little fresh minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I was hesitant to make carrot soup for my first time but was pleasantly surprised with this vegan recipe! It is quick and easy to make. It is also delicious and a great alternative for those with lactose intolerance. I will definitely make this soup again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Fantastic. Warming and addictive and much better than expected. I used veg "Better than bouillon" for stock and added half teaspoon ground fenugreek. Perfect winter meal, garnished with a dollop of yogurt and served with toasted naan. Going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I utterly loved this, though I used a quick garam masala mix (from this site). However, my husband didn't care for the sweet spices in the garam masala. THE SECOND DAY, THEY WERE MORE SUBTLE. He wanted to see if he liked it on the third day, but I'd polished it off by then. WILL TRY NEXT TIME: half red curry powder, half garam masala........ AMAZING SOUP - I gotta find a way to make this work for both hubs and me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I love this soup! I caramelized an onion and added, saving some for garnish with homemade croutons. I used my immersion blender which makes life so much easier. I was very wary of the coconut milk and was pleasantly surprised. It added to the overall flavor of the soup but did not taste like coconut. I am making a double batch today, half for me and half for a neighbor that just had a baby. Can't wait for dinner! Thanks monsterclowngirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was excellent! I made it as directed except substituting chicken broth for vegetable broth, which I did not have. (At that point of course it is no longer vegan, but that isn't a concern for my family.) The soup was the perfect consistency and the coconut milk gave it a delectable creaminess. It tasted reminiscent of pumpkin pie- probably because of the ginger and cinnamon- and the curry was not overpowering. I suppose that could be different depending on the potency of the curry powder and the soup taster's pallet sensitivity, but it was fine for us. The recipe calls for about 7 cups of liquids plus the pureed carrots. I think I wound up using more than two pounds, maybe closer to four pounds, since I just used about 10 medium to longish carrots and didn't weigh them first, but I had about 12 or so cups of soup when all was said and done. Not that I mind though because the soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I'm not so into coconut but this soup does have a very nice flavour. I agree with another reviewer in adding a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I love curry and so does my family, but this recipe did not work for me. I made it per recipe. I ended up with a somewhat bitter over curry tasting soup. I was expecting something a bit sweeter with a mild coconut flavor. My family could not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States