Vegan Carrot Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
I was hesitant to make carrot soup for my first time but was pleasantly surprised with this vegan recipe! It is quick and easy to make. It is also delicious and a great alternative for those with lactose intolerance. I will definitely make this soup again! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I have been dealing with gallbladder issues and there are very few foods I can eat. After having many bland meals, this was a great flavorful change. I just made it for a second time. It took me much longer than 20 minutes to cook the carrots. The second time around I boiled the carrots and then added them to the broth. I also used light coconut milk both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
I replaced half the broth with water because I need to watch out for sodium. I ran the carrots through the food processor before putting them in the broth at the beginning. Then when it was time to puree, the stick blender handled it very easily. Turned out delicious! This will be my standard carrot soup recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Fantastic. Warming and addictive and much better than expected. I used veg "Better than bouillon" for stock and added half teaspoon ground fenugreek. Perfect winter meal, garnished with a dollop of yogurt and served with toasted naan. Going into my regular rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
This worked wonderfully in my slow cooker also. I added a little fresh minced ginger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I'm sorry maybe it's because we are from Oklahoma and are not vegan but I couldn't eat it and neither could my husband. I am sure our taste buds are a little off but the texture and the taste just didn't work for us. I tried to be healthy.....won't do that again lol! Hope everyone tries it I'm sure it is just us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I left out 1 tsp of the curry because I only had hot madras type on hand, otherwise followed exactly. This soup is wonderful! Used a stick blender, which I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
I love curry and so does my family, but this recipe did not work for me. I made it per recipe. I ended up with a somewhat bitter over curry tasting soup. I was expecting something a bit sweeter with a mild coconut flavor. My family could not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Yobachus
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
AMAZING :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yobachus

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arima, Arima Borough, Trinidad And Tobago
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This soup is fantastic!! It definitely took me much longer then 20 minutes to cook the carrots and I added an extra can of coconut milk to make it extra 'creamy'. I also added extra of all of the spices to offset the extra coconut milk. Turned out AMAZING!!! My anti-vegetable, carnivore boyfriend went for thirds and asked me when I'd be making it again! :) Definitely in the recipe box permanently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States