Vegan Carrot Curry Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
Fantastic. My wife and I love this recipe. It's easy to add to and still tastes wonderful. We will fry some chicken with it and add bamboo chutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
For those of you who think it's a bit bitter due to the curry, add some sugar (palm sugar is my favorite, but regular works well too). I add about 1/4 cup, which eliminates the bitter and enhances the flavor of the curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This recipe was one of the biggest surprises I've had in awhile. It was SO easy to put together, came together quickly and had an amazing depth of flavor. I love how smooth the coconut milk made it without having to use heavy cream. The coconut milk also added a little sweetness which helped balance the spices. I will absolutely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
Made this following the recipe almost exactly, didn't quite have enough carrots and I used lite coconut milk but it ended up tasting delicious! The bf wouldn't eat it (he's picky), so I was able to to freeze some for lunches later :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
I made this to get rid of some leftovers, so it wasn't completely like the recipe. I added some green onions and half of a yellow onion, and used 2 tsp of fresh finely chopped ginger instead of ground. I also had some cubed cooked chicken breast that I added at the end after it had all been pureed, but I think I would leave that out next time. Overall it's a good, versitile recipe for using up carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
I utterly loved this, though I used a quick garam masala mix (from this site). However, my husband didn't care for the sweet spices in the garam masala. THE SECOND DAY, THEY WERE MORE SUBTLE. He wanted to see if he liked it on the third day, but I'd polished it off by then. WILL TRY NEXT TIME: half red curry powder, half garam masala........ AMAZING SOUP - I gotta find a way to make this work for both hubs and me!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
I'm not so into coconut but this soup does have a very nice flavour. I agree with another reviewer in adding a little onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
I love this soup! I caramelized an onion and added, saving some for garnish with homemade croutons. I used my immersion blender which makes life so much easier. I was very wary of the coconut milk and was pleasantly surprised. It added to the overall flavor of the soup but did not taste like coconut. I am making a double batch today, half for me and half for a neighbor that just had a baby. Can't wait for dinner! Thanks monsterclowngirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2012
This was excellent! I made it as directed except substituting chicken broth for vegetable broth, which I did not have. (At that point of course it is no longer vegan, but that isn't a concern for my family.) The soup was the perfect consistency and the coconut milk gave it a delectable creaminess. It tasted reminiscent of pumpkin pie- probably because of the ginger and cinnamon- and the curry was not overpowering. I suppose that could be different depending on the potency of the curry powder and the soup taster's pallet sensitivity, but it was fine for us. The recipe calls for about 7 cups of liquids plus the pureed carrots. I think I wound up using more than two pounds, maybe closer to four pounds, since I just used about 10 medium to longish carrots and didn't weigh them first, but I had about 12 or so cups of soup when all was said and done. Not that I mind though because the soup is delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
This soup is fantastic!! It definitely took me much longer then 20 minutes to cook the carrots and I added an extra can of coconut milk to make it extra 'creamy'. I also added extra of all of the spices to offset the extra coconut milk. Turned out AMAZING!!! My anti-vegetable, carnivore boyfriend went for thirds and asked me when I'd be making it again! :) Definitely in the recipe box permanently!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Vegan Black Bean Soup

See how to make a zesty black bean soup that’s thick and hearty.

Spicy Vegan Potato Curry

See how to make a spicy vegan curry with chickpeas and potatoes.

Quick and Easy Chicken Noodle Soup

See how to make hearty chicken noodle soup in just 30 minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States