Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
i would substitute the sugar and vegetable oil for coconut oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I should've followed the advice of those who said to decrease the oil (way to much here). Even though I added 1/2 tsp instant coffee granules to enhance the chocolate flavor, it didn't have much flavor other than the cocoa powder and the taste of sugar. As personal preference, I would use more cocoa (maybe Dutched instead of natural) or melted dark chocolate and less sugar (2/3?). BTW I used ground raw sugar and these are cake-like fresh from the oven and more fudgy when cooled. I personally prefer fudgy brownies that are less sweet and more chocolately so I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Vigidis
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2014
Amazingly good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vigidis

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
We live by this brownie recipe due to egg and milk allergies;)The only change I make is I HALF the oil. They turn out much better that way:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
This was a great recipe! I took tips from other reviews and used 1/2 cup of applesauce and 1/2 cup oil instead of all oil and they had a great texture, very cakey and delicious. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I tried this recipe this weekend after reading ALL the reviews. I was skeptical because there were so many differing opinions but I think they turned out VERY well for a vegan brownie (I'm not vegan but I made them for a friend). I will point out, however, that they are very moist--the way that I like brownies. I made a full recipe and modified as follows: I used whole wheat flour. Instead of 2 cups of sugar I used 1 cup raw turbinado sugar and 1/2 cup honey. Instead of the 1 cup oil I used 1/4 cup olive oil and 3/4 cup unsweetened applesauce. Instead of water I used 1 cup of strong black coffee. I mixed the warm coffee with the sugar and vanilla and then added the cocoa, oil, honey and applesauce. I mixed the flour, salt and baking powder together and then added the dry ingredients to the wet mixture. I stirred in one cup of vegan chocolate chips, too but they would be great without the chocolate chips. I used a brand new, non-stick 9x13 pan and baked at 350 (my oven might run a little cold because it's older) for about 35 minutes -- I set the timer for 25 and kept adding a few minutes until the brownies "looked dry on top" -- you'll be able to tell when they are done when the top isn't shiny any more. I let them cool in the pan for over an hour and then cut and put into a Rubbermaid container in between pieces of wax paper last night to prevent sticking. We ate a test brownie at lunch today and it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
The reviewer who said these were the “worst brownies ever” must be on some sort of mind-altering substance, because these brownies are AMAZING. However, I recommend using less than ½ a cup of vegetable oil — 1 cup of vegetable oil is waaaay too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I'm not sure if I did something wrong, but they came out tasting just like vegetable oil =/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Im just going vegan, from vegetarian and these brownies are honestly the best! I used all supplies from the new organic section in stop and shop. If you think about most brownie mixes from a box have the same ingredients so, give these brownies a try. They are rich and perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
These brownies were absolutely delicious!! I followed the directions to the letter. I did add about handful of vegan mini chocolate chips once my brownies were ready to pour into the pan. Due to variances in ovens, I had to bake the brownies about 20 minutes longer than instructed. As others have mentioned, they did crumble a little when I cut them, but I noticed that when I allowed them to cool a little more, they were fine and held their shape. Overall, they were SO good and my boys and family LOVED them. They are begging me to make them again soon! Thanks for a vegan twist on brownies!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States