Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
These brownies were tasty, but pretty greasy and crumbly. For chocolate lovers out there I added some chocolate chips, and it really added some sweatness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
These are fantastic! I subbed olive oil for the vegetable oil and added about .25 cup of coffee, poured the batter into muffin wrappers, and had great cupcakes. Definitely a staple if you avoid animal products but like baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia Bryan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
This recipe is great! Tastes like normal brownies, without having to use any weird ingredients. I actually had all the ingredients already so didn't have to go to the store for egg-replacements etc. Since I was making these for my anniversary, after reading some of the other comments I did decide to add a little extra flavor w/ coconut milk instead of water and also by substituting most of the oil w/ melted vegan margarine. It's great how basic the recipe is so that you can substitute whatever you feel like, and was exactly what I was looking for: basic, cheap, quick, easy, delicious. Didn't have a brownie recipe w/out some sort of egg-replacer, so this was wonderful. It did seem like a lot of sugar, maybe because I don't bake much, but kept w/ the recipe and it came out tasting like normal brownies (which I was going for, since my husband's an omnivore & choco-holic)! He loves these :) Maybe next time (as I WILL be making these again) I will get even more creative & healthy, w/in reason of course, by using some avocado in place of the oil (other people suggested applesauce which I will try too) & less sugar (maybe substituting with some banana and agave syrup), & adding some strong coffee as part of the liquid component to make it even more chocolatey. Mine wasn't very crumbly at all (didn't overbake, went just by the directions), but would like to make it a smidge more fudgey so maybe using avocado would do the trick. Great basic recipe! I love it, thank you for sharing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Mason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
I love this recipe- thanks for posting. I add spices (like cinnamon), chocolate chips and coconut,use at least half of whole grain flour,and raw sugar (as if that would make it healthier, but one can try ;)). I think its great to remember roughly same amounts of flour, water, oil and a bit more sugar. I agree, that they crumble a bit, but I have no clue how to improve that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SaPa Si

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
Gooey, chewy, fudgy, yummmmmm. I'm a brownie freak and these are everything a brownie is supposed to be. My "omg, these are the best brownies I've ever had" recipe when I want to wow a non-vegan and show them how completely unnecessary eggs are in modern baking. Have made this recipe at least 30 times, it never fails. I took the advice of one of the commenters and added a middle layer of (vegan, of course) dark chocolate chips, which only adds to the perfect texture of this awesome recipe. The only other difference is I usually cut some of the oil with applesauce. I've taken these brownies to work, to pot lucks, to get-togethers... all I've ever gotten is rave after rave after rave. I want this recipe on my tombstone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by antonialeigh

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Ok, on a positive note, the texture I really like. They are a bit crumbly while still being fudgy. On the bad side, they taste absolutely horrible. I am a chef, and I love to bake..I love to try new recipes and new things..these are just plain terrible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caitlin Gendron

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
I just love the effortlessness of this recipe. It's like a walk in the park! But I would much rather prefer an alternatives to the oil and the white suger. I love brownies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Mmmmmmmmmmmm! These are so good I gave it four stars cause it took me like two hours during the baking and cooling before I could cut them would make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Monroe, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
I followed the recipe but neither I nor hubby liked it. Did not taste good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I loved this recipe, my first time making it, and they were a huge hit! Everyone was actually surprised to find out that they were vegan, and it actually got most of whom had the brownies to try more vegan foods and recipes. Absolutely love this recipe, this is a must in my cookbook!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 627) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States