Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
Great taste and always reliable! I don't like how it uses so much oil, but I just substitute half the oil for applesauce and it turns out great. I prefer to cook it longer than recommended, and it's a bit too crumby sometimes. Overall, though, it has a great strong chocolate flavor, and I love to make it! Another tip: sometimes this recipe tastes better as leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2013
I was not a fan of this recipe. Vegan baked goods are usually fantastic, and this was an exception. The brownies came out much too cakey, and the flavor was definitely...off. It wasn't rich and chocolatey at all. Definitely disappointed. :/ Maybe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
The issue with this recipe being crumbly/not sticking together can easily be resolved (as can most any vegan recipe lacking eggs) by adding the flax seed substitute equivalent to a couple of eggs. This mixture consists of 1 heaping Tbsp. ground flax seed + 1/4 cup water for each egg "missing". I make this substitution for many baked good recipes to "veganize" them and it works wonders. With this recipe I simply added the equivalent of 2 eggs worth of the beaten flax seed mixture (it even thickens like eggs when beaten with a wand-type hand mixer for 30 seconds or so) - it left the brownies a bit more cake-like and fully stuck together..not to mention the added nutritional value it adds to each treat! I did not find the oil to be excessive as other reviewers mentioned - this may be due to the extra binding material provided by the flax seed mixture that helped keep the oil from separating out...in any case, the recipe turned out great for me and the brownies were a perfect texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by missrochester
Reviewed: May 17, 2013
Ok I don't know how fair my rating is I changed the recipe quite a bit to make them a little more healthy and lapband friendly.I used canned pumpkin inplace of the oil I used equal packets in place of the sugar and instead of water I used coffee over all Its certainly not like a Real Brownie but when im craving something sweet like a brownie these will defiantly do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missrochester

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 16, 2013
These were so yummy! I'm not vegan, just wanted an easy chocolate delivery system and had all the ingredients on hand. I followed the recipe almost exactly. I just used an 8x8 pan instead. It turned out more like a brownie ish cake than a cakie brownie. Not crumbly at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
This wasn't what I was expecting...I will keep looking for other vegan brownie recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Very good vegan brownies! These were fluffier and more cake-like than traditional non-vegan brownies, but the flavor is perfect! I made a few modifications based on other reviews - I used 1 cup of almond milk instead of water and used 1/2 cup unsweetened applesauce and 1/2 cup of vegetable oil instead of the 1 cup of vegetable oil. I will definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Very good basic recipe but I agree too much oil. I lowered it to 3/4 cup and increased the almond milk I used in place of water to 1 1/2 cups. I also increased the cocoa to 1 cup, and added 2 tsp of cinnamon, 1/4 tsp cayenne powder, 2 Tablespoons of arrowroot powder and 2 tsp of baking powder for a more cake like brownie. I increased the time to 45 minutes as well. I enjoy taking a simple and good recipe and shifting things slightly to fit our tastes and what we have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
For those who are complaining about the crumbliness of the brownies--instead of a cup of water, use a cup of unsweetened applesauce. The applesauce has a binding agent in it (yay fruit pectin!) and the moisture of the sauce should keep the consistency correct. You may need to cook them a little longer, or use a little less flour, depending on your gooey-ness preferences. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
Great recipe for my niece and nephew who have dairy, soy and egg allergies. Made a few adjustments after reading all the comments. Used 1 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white, 1/2 cup water, 1/2 cup almond milk, 1/2 cup apple sauce and 1/2 cup canola oil. They came out yummy, and the batter was great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 618) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States