Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I just found this recipe. I was looking for an eggless dessert recipe since I ran out of eggs. It turned out better than a thought. I replaced the flour for self-rising and cut the baking powder and salt. Also since we always try to make everything as healthy as possible, I replaced the oil for half applesauce half plain greek yogurt and added some almonds. They were delicious and my kids loved them. I didn't have any brown sugar but next time I'm going to try them with it insted of white or with another natural sweetener. Definitely doing this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
These turned out great. I mixed the flour n water first. I used coconut oil and added coffee crystals. Delicious and not greasy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
I made a couple small tweaks, and these turned out fantastic! I used just half the oil the original recipe called for, I added 1/4 tsp of almond extract, and a healthy squirt of chocolate syrup. That's probably not vegan, and I apologize to those who are offended by that change. I was making this recipe simply because I was out of milk and eggs and making do with what was in my cupboards. The batter/dough was incredibly thick and hard to work with (probably because of the lack of oil), but once I got it spread into the pan it turned out just fine. I would definitely make it again just as I did this time, it tasted great and had a pleasant texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I LOVED these brownies. They were delicious. A tip: add 1/2 a cup of vegan chocolate chips to the batter. They were great, but I would also suggest adding egg replacer or applesauce also, since they were quite crumbly. Don't forget to grease the pan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
I followed other some other reviewers suggestions and added peanut butter and frosting. They turned out great! Instead of 1 cup of vegetable oil, I did 3/4 cup of unsweetened apple sauce and 1/4 cup of vegetable oil. I also added in 1/4 cup of natural peanut butter to the batter. Spray the pan well with cooking spray and cook for 30 minutes. I also added frosting, which was 1 can of Pillsbury Supreme Creamy Vanilla (listed on PETA's accidentally vegan site, so 99% vegan), mixed with 1/4 cup of creamy peanut butter and 2 tablespoons of vanilla almond milk. Mix with electric beaters. Spread over brownies. Let sit in refrigerator overnight and then cut into squares. I kept them in the fridge and we ate them cold. They turned out really yummy and not crumbly at all! They almost had a fudge like consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Alex Clem
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Really tasty with just a few improvements:roasted nuts and almonds!It gets done in about 3 minutes with the help offered by my 2 and a half little girl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I changed from white sugar to Raw Sugar and 1/2 cup of dried cranberry. Moist and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
This is a great recipe. I cut the sugar in half and used raw sugar instead of white. I also cut the oil down by 1/3 and instead used water to reach a proper consistency for baking. I sprayed my baking dish with olive oil and poured half the batter, sprinkling vegan chocolate chips on the middle, followed by the rest of the batter with more chips on top. This recipe needs approximately 15 more minutes of baking than indicated, but I used a toothpick in the center to gauge this. Close to the end of cooking, I dropped dollops of unsalted natural peanut butter on top, swirled through with a knife, and continued baking for 10 minutes. They are delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
We adapted this recipe into a gluten free version using Bobs Red Mill All Purpose Gluten Free Flour. Added 1 tsp zanthum gum, substituted full fat coconut milk for the water and left the rest of the recipe as is. These turned out wonderfully! Even better than our favourite brownie mix by Namaste! Just as easy and much cheaper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
These were sensational! I would have given it a 5 if it wasn't too crumbly. I made a few changes though, used brown sugar instead of white and decreased the flour by 1/2 cup and substituted the 1/2 cup with unsweetened coconut flakes. They weren't oily and tasted just perfect. Will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 615) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States