Vegan Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Made these for vegan friends, and they were great. They did not cut well, so I wouldn't want to make them for a baby shower or something, but they tasted good. I used a bit less oil and used 2 shots of espresso in place of some of the water. Also threw in some dark chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darla Gibbens
Reviewed: May 23, 2015
Due to allergies, we are gluten free, egg free & soy free....I usually end up with a VEGAN recipe as a base for alterations. This one was perfect. The things I changed: 2 cups Gluten Free flour blend. 1/2 C butter & 1/2 C coconut oil (instead of veg oil which is soy based) Add the equivalent of 2 eggs from the EnerG egg replacer product to give the brownies more "lift". I've been happy with this recipe in the past....and really happy with the end result tonight with the alterations I listed above. Excellent warm out of the oven. This will be my go-to brownie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darla Gibbens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2015
I'm not vegan but I have been getting into baking vegan food, and have been considering the decision to became one and I must say that this recipe is pretty simple and good! I took another reviewer's suggestion and used 1 cup of coffee instead of water, and it definitely tweaked it. It's great with a whipped vegan topping! Keep in mind, that it would be great with something topped on it, rather that be a whipped topping or fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyMage

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gwinn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nicole Allison McReynolds
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2015
Yummy!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
First vegan baking experience and was thrilled! Did raw sugar as I learned white processed is not truly vegan. Also subbed out 1/2 the oil for organic unsweeted applesauce and still think I could cut out more oil. For those who mentioned crumbly texture: mix the dry ingredients with water BEFORE the oil otherwise it won't combine well. Added walnuts for a crunch and LOVED that. Also baked about twice as long because 25 minutes were 100% uncooked except for outter edges. Will definitely cook these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2015
This is a great recipe!!!! I substituted palm shortening instead of oil. Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ariel Swingley
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2015
I swapped out gluten-free flour for flour, coconut palm sugar for white sugar, and half of the oil for melted coconut oil. My version was still on the oily side, but it baked off in the 30 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ariel Swingley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by millscooks
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2015
This recipe was fabulous! Loved the vegan addition. Tastes incredible! We also added some sweetend coco powder for the extra sweet taste for those chocolate lovers of the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
I used this as a base recipe, switched out white sugar with coconut sugar and used coconut oil. Also I used less oil cus it seemed quite a lot. I made two, and used whole wheat flour for one of them. I made one batch with dark chocolate chips and one with cashew nuts and sea salt, the results are amazing! Got a tint of coconut taste tho, but personally I like it, great as a base recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilde Solvang

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I love this one, so easy and my family just eats them up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 669) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Gluten-Free Golden Yam Brownies

Turn yams into amazing gluten-free vegan brownies.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States