Vegan Broccoli Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I added a dash of cayenne pepper but other than that, it was great. Will make again. We should start an Eat to Live tab to allrecipes.com Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
Truly, truly, truly delicious. I've searched far and wide for the perfect vegan broccoli soup, and this one is the best, bar none. I happen to love heavy cream and was about to resort to it until I found this recipe. It's so creamy! And it's not cashew-y at all (not that there'd be anything wrong with that). Another cow can live in peace. My only tweak was to use Salish alderwood smoked sea salt instead of regular. I'll say again -- delicious. I might be able to hang with this vegan thing after all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2013
Delicious! I added three chopped carrots, exchanged an alternative salt product for the salt, and use used only one potato. This recipe is a comfort food without the guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
An amazing recipe!! After reading reviews saying it "needed something", I added 1 tsp dried dill, 1/2 tsp dried rosemary, an 1 tsp dried parsley when I added in the 4 cups of vegetable broth and the flavor turned out phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2013
Picking really good vegan recipes can be a crapshoot as they sometimes combine one or more ingredients to replace a tried and true one . . . like milk/cream in this case. This one makes ‘cream’ by blending cashews with broth. If not told beforehand, many people eating this soup would not identify cashews being used as the taste is surprisingly subtle. Perhaps it shouldn’t be surprising as almond or soy milk might work fine here if subbed for cashew cream. For us, this soup seriously needed seasoning. Having made that adjustment, it was pretty good but more tinkering is needed to take this up a notch . . . like a glug of dry white wine. Overall a healthy choice but we used a low sodium broth and omitted the salt given the relative high sodium content for just one bowl of soup. Nakkeya, thank you for creating this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Added 1/4 cup nutritional yeast and herb de provence. Also, did 4 cups broth in pot, and then used water to mix with cashews. YUM!!!! my kids LOVED it. And my daughter who is the BIGGEST fan of the real one with cheese- she asked for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BNASAR

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2014
I used some of the tweaks other people suggested (i.e. added 3 carrots, used only one potato - I used a Japanese sweet potato, actually). I also had some left over chopotle peppers in adobo I needed to use so I added one to the blender with the cashews (just used a cup of water, not veggie broth) and a half tsp. dill. The soup was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
All five of us loved this recipe! Did substitute coconut milk for some of the broth. My husband added a little Tabasco sauce. I will try the cayenne pepper suggestion next time. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
So Delicious!! Entire family loved it. I just added a large carrot with the broccoli. Will make again and again...a new favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
LOVED IT!!! Never used cashew cream and didnt know what it was until I found this recipe. Now I use cashew cream all the time. This is an easy tasty recipe. I add nutritional yeast to my serving bowl for a little cheesy flavor!! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Simple Broccoli Soup with Cheddar Croutons

Discover a terrific technique for making vegetable soups.

Excellent Broccoli Cheese Soup

See how to make homemade broccoli cheese soup.

Best Cream of Broccoli Soup

See how to make a simple, quick homemade broccoli soup recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States