Vegan Borscht Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Outstanding! I adore this soup! The greens and swiss chard create an earthy taste I can't get enough of. Although, the way I made it probably doesn't count as "borscht." I didn't have dill and I didn't blend anything. Just boiled it up and crumbled medium tofu into it... lazy, but still tasty! But do let it boil at least an hour before adding the tofu. Also, used fresh tomatoes instead of canned ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Mmmmm...so good. Added some navy beans at the end1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
This is awesome! You don't even need to serve anything on the side, it's so filling and creamy. I don't understand how anyone could call it bland, but that's just me- loved the taste of variety of ingredients and I added some extra chard and used diced tomatoes with chilis, yummy! My first time working with beets and chard and it turned out awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
bland, really bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
This is delicious, though it's definitely not like the photo. Note that when it says to blend half the beets, it should day half the entire mixture. Also, just pure the whole thing of you want soup, leaving the other half chunky is also delicious but makes it feel more like a stew.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
I ended up needing to put a lot of salt, pepper, and cayenne pepper into it (I found it a bit bland as well). I also added some Tofutti Sour-cream on top once it was in a bowl. It helped a little. When the soup cooled you could taste the subtle flavors a bit more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
Love this recipe. I'm making it again this year w/my excess beets. I love that you use the greens. I don't have celery in the garden so I leave it out, everything else I have. Oh, no fresh dill either--I use the dill seed I saved earlier this summer. And I don't put in the tofu. It's really great w/o it. I bet it'd be great w/it too, but I never have any on hand(or veggie broth). This freezes great. I make a big batch or two and eat it all winter long out of quart jars in the freezer. Cracked pepper and a dollop of sour cream and I'm good to go. Thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Excellent! I left out the celery (don't care for it) and used a can of diced tomatoes with habaneros to give it a little heat. My husband and I loved it and will definitely have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
Loved it, left out the tofu, made a hardy soup to go with homemade whole wheat bread. Topped with chopped hard boiled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grannygamer

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cazadero, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I love this recipe, I have made it several times!! I love the earthy taste to it from including the greens. I was even asked for this recipe from a family member I fed it to!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

How to Make Beef Borscht

So comforting, it warms you from the inside out.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Vegan Lasagna I

This delicious lasagna recipe calls for a vegan tofu mixture instead of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States